Board members sworn in at school

Students at Deep Springs Elementary School saw Fayette County School Board members sworn into office Friday and got a civics lesson in the process.

Youngsters were able to ask board members about what they do and why they serve.

They wanted to know everything from how long board members serve (four years) to why the oath of office requires them to swear they've never participated in a duel (it's a provision of the 1891 state constitution). The program was designed to demonstrate the importance of community service.

Board members sworn in Friday were Becky Sagan, John Price, Melissa Bacon and Kirk Tinsley. The fifth member, Amanda Ferguson, did not have to take the oath because she was first elected in 2006.