Education Notes: Feb. 11, 2011

Three members of the Fayette County Board of Education were sworn in by Chief Judge Jeff Taylor. Pictured are, from left,  Amanda Ferguson, District 4; Doug Barnett, District 2; and Daryl Love, District 5.
Three members of the Fayette County Board of Education were sworn in by Chief Judge Jeff Taylor. Pictured are, from left, Amanda Ferguson, District 4; Doug Barnett, District 2; and Daryl Love, District 5.


■ The Transylvania University student newspaper, The Rambler, won 15 awards at the annual Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association competition last month. The awards included first place for continuing news (coverage of Transy President Charles Shearer's retirement and the search for a new president) news story, editorial and feature photo. In addition, Transy junior John Johnson won the on-site copy-editing contest for students from large and small universities.

Transy's journalists compete in the division for schools with 5,000 students or fewer.

The KIPA awards were announced during the group's annual conference in Louisville. The KIPA conference and awards ceremony were held in conjunction with the Kentucky Press Association and Kentucky News Photographers Association. It was the largest gathering ever of current and future journalists from around the state.

Dr. Lumy Sawaki, associate professor and Cardinal Hill Endowed Research Scholar in Stroke and Spinal Cord Injury with the University of Kentucky College of Medicine, has received the American Occupational Therapy Association's 2011 Certificate of Appreciation for "excellence, passion, inspiration and unfailing leadership."

The award recognizes extraordinary contributions to the advancement of occupational therapy and will be presented in April at the association's annual conference in Philadelphia.

Sawaki is director of the UK HealthCare Stroke and Spinal Cord Neurorehabilitation Research Program at Cardinal Hill Hospital and is a clinical researcher with expertise in the use of techniques including transcranial magnetic stimulation, magnetoencephalography and functional magnetic resonance imaging.

Linda J. Van Eldik, director of the University of Kentucky Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, has been awarded a $750,000 grant to further her research into a possible treatment for Alzheimer's disease. The grant is from the Edward N. And Della L. Thome Memorial Foundation, and it was one of only eight Awards in Alzheimer's Disease Drug Discovery Research to be given in the U.S. in 2010.

■ Students from Winburn, Lexington Traditional Magnet and Beaumont middle schools topped their respective fields in district-level competition for the Governor's Cup, which ended Jan. 22.

The Governor's Cup was founded in 1986 to promote and reward outstanding academic achievement. It has become Kentucky's premier academic competition.

Top results in District 56 (all from Winburn Middle School): Math: Kathleen Yang, first; Angela Tseng, second; Theodore Livas, third. Science: Alaap Patil, third. Social studies: Daniel Ma, first. Language arts: Sydney Smith, first; Erin Holbrook, second; Max Morris, third. Arts and humanities: Daniel Ma, first. Composition: Sydney Smith. second. Future problem-solving (team): Winburn, first. Quick recall (team): Winburn, first. Winburn also received the Hume Sportsmanship Award.

Top results in District 57: Math: Eric Xiong, first, Lexington Traditional Magnet; David Stevens, second, Morton Middle; Nima Mahmoudi, tied third, LTMS; Jack King, tied third, Edythe J. Hayes Middle. Science: Elliot Beach, first, LTMS; Will Walters, second, LTMS. Social studies: Eric Xiong, first, LTMS; Drew Sorenson, third, Edythe J. Hayes. Language arts: Will Walters, first, LTMS; Alice Li, second, LTMS. Arts and humanities: Grace Goulson, first, LTMS; Angela Maske, tied third, LTMS. Composition: Alice Li, first, LTMS; Angela Maske, second, LTMS; Hunter Nelson, third, Morton. Future problem-solving (team): Tied for first: Morton and LTMS. Quick recall (team): LTMS, first; Edythe J. Hayes, third.

Top results in District 58: Math: Elaine Lin, first, Beaumont Middle; Sahil Nair, third, Beaumont. Science: Taha Husain, first; Hannah Pulley, second; George Simpson, third, all of Beaumont. Social studies: Benjamin Bossert, second, Jessie Clark; Taha Husain, third, Beaumont. Language arts: Elaine Lin, first, Beaumont; Miranda Rojas, second, Jessie Clark; Lauren Miller, third, Southern Middle. Arts and humanities: Kyra Seevers, first, Beaumont; Ben Thornton, second, Jessie Clark. Composition: Joanna Slusarewicz, first, Beaumont; Celine Chea, tied for third, Jessie M. Clark Middle; Linda Zhang, tied for third, Beaumont. Future problem-solving team: Jessie Clark, first; Beaumont, second. Quick recall team: Beaumont, first; Jessie Clark, second.

Go to for more details. The middle school regional contests are Feb. 1 and 5, and the state competition is March 12 to 14.


■ Musicians from all five of Lexington's public high schools had been scheduled to perform together in the 2011 KMEA District 7 Honor Band on Jan. 22.

Because of weather, the rehearsals and free concert have been rescheduled for March 24 to 26. The time and location have not been determined.

District 7 of the Kentucky Music Educators Association includes 19 high schools in Fayette and surrounding counties.

More than 100 FCPS students were selected after auditions early this month.

Eastern Kentucky University's Stephen Collins Foster Academy for Musical Excellence has created a Home School Choir program, open to home schooled students at the elementary school level (grades 4-8) throughout Central Kentucky.

EKU senior music major Mark Fields will direct the choir, and rehearsals will be held Thursday mornings at Red House Baptist Church in Richmond.

For more information, contact Rachel Taylor at

■ Three members of the Fayette County Board of Education were sworn into office recently by judge Jeff Taylor, who commended their vision and commitment.

Doug Barnett was elected in November to his first term representing District 2, and incumbent Amanda Ferguson was re-elected in District 4.

Six weeks later, the state education commissioner appointed Daryl Love to the seat left open when then-board chairwoman Becky Sagan resigned because her family moved out of District 5.

They joined chairman John Price of District 3 and vice chair Melissa Bacon of District 1.

As superintendent, Stu Silberman is the board secretary.