Kentucky education commissioner wins award

Kentucky Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday
Kentucky Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday

Kentucky Education Commissioner Terry Holliday has been named 2014 Policy Leader of the Year by the National Association of State Boards of Education.

"Commissioner Holliday's dedication to improving public education and his achievements are renowned in Kentucky and nationwide," association executive director Kristen Amundson said in a news release. "His work in cooperation with the Kentucky State Board of Education has made the state a national leader."

Since Holliday became education commissioner in 2009, Kentucky has implemented a new assessment and accountability system, and a new educator evaluation system will go statewide this fall. And under Holliday's leadership, Kentucky was the first state to adopt the Common Core State Standards and Next Generation Science Standards.

Previous winners of the Policy Leader of the Year Award include Gen. Colin Powell, former Michigan Gov. Jennifer Granholm, former New Jersey Gov. Tom Kean, former first lady Barbara Bush, former Chicago Mayor Richard Daley, and U.S. Sens. Sen. Mark Warner of Virginia and Sen. Johnny Isakson of Georgia.

Holliday is scheduled to accept the award at NASBE's national conference Oct. 17 in Denver.