Two Fayette school board members will face opposition in November

Two Fayette County school board members will have opposition in the Nov. 4 general election.

Tuesday was the filing deadline for candidates.

Natasha Murray, an educational consultant and research analyst for the Kentucky Department of Education, opposes board member Amanda Ferguson in District 4, an area in southeast Lexington that includes Ashland Elementary School, Morton Middle School and Henry Clay and Tates Creek high schools.

Doug Barnett, the board member representing District 2, will face Roger Cleveland, an associate professor in the College of Education at Eastern Kentucky University. District 2 includes several schools in north Lexington, including Arlington Elementary School, Lexington Traditional Magnet and Bryan Station High School.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader