New leaders named for Maxwell Elementary, Jessie Clark Middle schools

New principals have been named at two Fayette County Public Schools and two Central Office acting program directors have been given permanent positions, according to Superintendent Manny Caulk.

Assuming their posts on Friday will be:

▪  Jennifer Kendall, new principal of Jessie Clark Middle School

▪  Debbie James, interim principal of Maxwell Elementary School

▪  Amanda Dennis, Director of Special Education

▪  Myron Thompson, Senior Director of Operations and Support

With this latest round of announcements, all principal vacancies in Fayette County have been filled.

Kendall has 19 years of education experience She started her career as a special education teacher at Bryan Station High School and also taught at language arts at Anderson Middle School in Lawrenceburg. She has served as a reading specialist and academic dean at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, associate principal at Tates Creek Middle School, principal at Leestown Middle School, associate director of human resources for certified personnel, and associate principal at Jessie Clark Middle School.

James has 33 years of experience in education. She taught at the elementary and middle school levels in Scott and Woodford counties and served as a principal at elementary schools in Carrollton and Frankfort. She joined Fayette County Public Schools in 2010 as gifted and talented teacher at Meadowthorpe Elementary and served as an instructor in reading and math at Tates Creek Elementary prior to accepting the position as an interim teacher coach at Maxwell last spring.

Dennis has most recently been interim director of special education, and Thompson acting senior director of Operations and Support in Fayette County.

Valarie Honeycutt Spears: 859-231-3409, @vhspears