Appointed Fayette School Board member has no opposition in November election

Newly appointed Fayette County Public Schools board member Raymond Daniels will have no opposition in the November general election, according to the Fayette County clerk’s office.

Daniels, who owns area Waffle House restaurants, was appointed in June to fill the District 3 seat vacated when longtime board chairman John Price died of leukemia in February.

The deadline to file for the November election was Aug. 9.

District 3 includes the Hamburg area of southeast Lexington.

Two current board members — chairwoman Melissa Bacon and Daryl Love — both face opposition in the November election.

Bacon was appointed in 2006 and was elected in 2007, 2008, and 2012, according to the district website.

Love was appointed in 2010 and was elected in 2012.

Their terms end this year, and both Bacon and Love have are seeking re-election in the November general election. Bacon represents District 1 in western Fayette County. Samantha Rodarte also has filed for that seat.

Love represents District 5, which includes some portions of south Lexington. Sharon Mofield Boswell also has filed to run for that seat.

The terms of two other board members, vice-chairwoman Amanda Ferguson and Doug Barnett, run through 2018.

Valarie Honeycutt Spears: 859-231-3409, @vhspears