Special Reports

Lexington Public Library: the players

Kathleen Imhoff is the Lexington Public Library's CEO and executive director. She was hired by the library's board of trustees in 2003. Previously, Imhoff was assistant director of the Broward County Library in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. She has a master's degree in library science from the University of Wisconsin and is a library consultant and a member of several national and international library organizations.

Board of trustees

The library is run by a board, whose members are nominated by the mayor and confirmed by the Urban County Council to serve four-year terms. The library is an independent non-profit, although most of its $15 million annual budget comes from Fayette County property taxes.

Burgess Carey, chairman, is a real estate developer and owner of The Carey Group in Nicholasville.







Joseph Miller, vice chairman, is an attorney at Gess, Mattingly & Atchison in Lexington.







Larry Smith, secretary, is an independent marketing consultant and former senior vice president and director of marketing at Central Bank & Trust Co.





Richard Browning, treasurer, is a senior lender at Peoples Exchange Bank in Winchester.







Louis "Buzz" Carmichael is vice president of capital markets at CBA Pharma, a specialty pharmaceutical company based in Lexington.






Ralph Coldiron, a former restaurant consultant and, until recently, one of Gov. Steve Beshear’s political appointees.






Kathy Reynolds is a certified public accountant at Dean, Dorton & Ford in Lexington.







John Cheves