UK announces 22 winners of top scholarship

The University of Kentucky has selected 22 entering first-year students as Otis A. Singletary Scholars, which provides UK's most-prestigious four-year scholarship.

Named for former UK President Otis A. Singletary, the scholarship covers the full cost of tuition, room and board and a personal stipend.

All of the winners but one come from Kentucky. The winners must have a 3.75 high school grade point average out of a perfect 4.0, and score 31 or higher, out of a perfect 36, on the American College Test (ACT), or a combined 1360 math and critical reading scores out of a perfect 1600 on the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT).

Other factors considered were extracurricular and volunteer activities, work, leadership, an essay and an interview.

The 22 winners, chosen from a field of 444 eligible students, include seven National Merit Scholarship finalists, 12 valedictorians, 17 Kentucky Governor's Scholars and a graduate of the Governor's School for the Arts.

The new Singletary Scholars are:

J. Ryan Belcher, Frankfort; Tyler Quinn Cantrell, Mayfield; Kari Cornett, Pineville; Taylor Cox, Campbellsville; Zachary Davis, Lexington; Olivia Gatten, Sturgis; Lindsay R. Good, Louisville; Christopher John Goodale, Manitou (Hopkins County).

Clinton Andrew Hall, Stanford; Lauren Noel Ison, Greenup; Jeb A. Jarrell, Ashland; Kirk A. Jenkins, Somerset; Nathan Kitchens, Dry Ridge; Matthew D. McGrail, Henderson; Nathan Alexander Miles, Morehead.

Darcy Jo Porter, Paintsville; Kelsey Leigh Sparrow, Overland Park, Kan.; Scott Alexander Tatman, Ashland; Matthew Trautman, Glasgow; and Daniel Woods, Carrollton.