3 Ky. airports receive $10 million

Three small Kentucky airports will receive $10 million in economic recovery funds under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood announced this week.

The Federal Aviation Administration will give $4 million to Madison Airport in Madison County, $3.5 million to Georgetown Scott County Marshall Field, and $2.5 million to Owensboro-Daviess County Airport.

The FAA received $1.1 billion from the recovery act to allocate to about 3,400 eligible airports, according to the U.S. Department of Transportation. The airports will use the money to address airport safety and security, infrastructure, runway safety, increased capacity and mitigation of environmental damage.