Beattyville paper receives service award

The Beattyville Enterprise has received the 2009 Lewis Owens Community Service Award in recognition of the paper's having survived the fire last year that destroyed its building and much of downtown Beattyville.

The weekly managed to keep publishing without missing a beat, despite having its facilities and equipment destroyed. The award went to publisher Edmund Shelby. Herald-Leader Publisher Timothy M. Kelly presented the award.

The Lewis E. Owens Award was originally established in memory of Edwards M. Templin, promotion director of the Lexington Herald-Leader and president-elect of the Kentucky Press Association when he died in 1967.

It was later renamed to honor longtime Herald-Leader publisher Lewis Owens for his years of service to community and service organizations and to Kentucky newspaper's industry. Owens died in 1998 after battling amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, better known as Lou Gehrig's disease.

Also, the Kentucky Press Association on Friday announced winners of its Excellence in Kentucky Newspapers Competition for 2009.

The Todd County Standard of Elkton; the Springfield Sun; the Oldham Era of LaGrange; The Sentinel News of Shelbyville; Kentucky New Era of Hopkinsville; Bowling Green Daily News; and the Lexington Herald-Leader won first place general excellence awards.

In the non-paid category, the News Standard of Brandenburg took first place general excellence. The Kentucky Kernel, the University of Kentucky's student publication, won first place general excellence for college and university publications.