11 counties added to Kentucky's disaster declaration from April storms

Kentuckians in 11 more counties may apply to federal and state disaster funds for losses from the April 22 tornadoes and flooding.

The funds cover homeowners, renters and businesses, according to a news release from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The 11 new counties are Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Marshall, McCracken, Livingston, Union and Webster, bringing the total of affected counties to 55.

FEMA's Individual Assistance Program provides help with temporary housing; uninsured personal property losses; and medical, dental, and funeral expenses caused by the disaster. The program can cover other "disaster-related expenses and serious needs."

To apply by phone, call 1-800-621-3362 or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Online, go to, or via smartphone:

In addition, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration will be made available to help residents and businesses not covered by insurance, the FEMA release said.

Loans of as much as $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace homes that have been damaged or destroyed. Homeowners and renters also are eligible for as much as $40,000 to repair or replace personal property, according to an SBA release.

The SBA loans can assist businesses and "most" non-profits in 23 counties — Ballard, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Carter, Fulton, Grayson, Greenup, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, LaRue, Lawrence, Lyon, McLean, Meade, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer and Trigg — for "economic injury."

Loans can be made to small businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture, and most private, non-profit organizations to "meet their ordinary and necessary financial obligations that cannot be met as a direct result of the disaster."

The deadline to return applications for physical property damage is July 18. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Feb. 21.