Governments in seven Kentucky counties are declared eligible for storm-related federal aid

The local governments of seven Kentucky counties hit by the Feb. 29 and March 2 storms have been approved for federal reimbursement of weather- related costs, Gov. Steve Beshear announced Friday night.

Beshear said he received word that the Federal Emergency Management Agency had declared the counties eligible for help under the Public Assistance Grant Program.

The counties are Grant, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee and Morgan.

More counties might be approved as damage assessments continue to come in, the governor's office said.

The Public Assistance Grant Program helps local governments make up the cost of removing disaster-related debris from public rights of way, and enables them to recover costs associated with protecting lives and property during a disaster.

President Barack Obama already has approved disaster declarations for 21 Kentucky counties. That helps residents and businesses receive aid for losses they suffered because of the storms.


Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader