Lexington's Dawson makes first cut but falls short of Hall of Fame

Lexington native Dermontti Dawson was not among the seven inductees voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Dawson, a finalist for the third time, survived Saturday's first cut from 17 to 12 finalists but made it no further.

The seven-member Hall of Fame class of 2011 includes Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders and Shannon Sharpe.

Saturday's first cutdown eliminated Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Chris Doleman and Charles Haley.

Joining Dawson as members of the final list not selected were Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin, Andre Reed and Willie Roaf.

Dawson, who played for Bryan Station High School and the University of Kentucky, spent his entire pro career (1988-2000) with the Pittsburgh Steelers. He was a first-team All-Pro selection six consecutive years (1993-98) and in the Pro Bowl seven years in a row (1993-99).