Ex-Cat Holmes replaces Furyk on U.S. Presidents Cup roster

J.B. Holmes pumped his fist after winning the Wells Fargo Championship in May. Holmes' first win since 2008 earned him a spot in this week's PGA Championship.
J.B. Holmes pumped his fist after winning the Wells Fargo Championship in May. Holmes' first win since 2008 earned him a spot in this week's PGA Championship. ASSOCIATED PRESS

Former University of Kentucky All-American J.B. Holmes was added Friday to the 2015 United States Presidents Cup roster, captain Jay Haas announced.

Holmes will replace Jim Furyk, who withdrew from the event with a wrist injury, on the 12-man U.S. roster.

"J.B. is excited for the opportunity and will be ready to play," Haas said. "He’s had two top 10s to end the FedExCup Playoffs, so he’s playing well and he’ll be a good fit. We’re all looking forward to a great week.”

Furyk pulled out of the BMW Championship during the first round because of a deep bone bruise in his left wrist. He sat out the FedExCup finale at the Tour Championship last week to try to be ready for the Presidents Cup.

"I did everything I could to try to heal it as fast as possible," Furyk told the Associated Press. "I tested the wrist pretty hard yesterday to see how it would respond and it's not 100 percent healed. I'm not able to play more than one day in a row and I'm feeling some pain because my wrist needed more time to heal."

Holmes will be making his Presidents Cup debut after being a part of the 2008 Ryder Cup team. Holmes was 2-0-1 in the Ryder Cup that was hosted by Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville.

Holmes, a Campbellsville native who starred in high school at Taylor County, has four PGA Tour wins in his career, including a victory this season at the Shell Houston Open where he defeated Jordan Spieth and Johnson Wagner in a playoff.

"My heart goes out to Jim because I know how much the Presidents Cup means to him," Holmes said. "Obviously, he has been a leader for our team for many years and he will be greatly missed. I am, however, very honored and excited to get the call from captain Haas to make the trip to South Korea to help the U.S. team retain the cup."

The Presidents Cup is a biennial event that features a team of U.S. golfers versus an international team not including members from Europe. The 2015 event is at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon, South Korea, Oct. 8-11.

The Americans have won the event five times in a row.

A three-time All-American at Kentucky and a UK Athletics Hall of Famer, Holmes helped guide the Wildcats to the 2005 Southeastern Conference championship.


Rosters for the Presidents Cup, to be played Oct. 8-11 at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea (c-captain’s pick):

International team

Captain: Nick Price

c-Sang-moon Bae, South Korea

c-Steven Bowditch, Australia

Jason Day, Australia

Branden Grace, South Africa

Thongchai Jaidee, Thailand

Anirban Lahiri, India

Danny Lee, New Zealand

Marc Leishman, Australia

Hideki Matsuyama, Japan

Louis Oosthuizen, South Africa

Charl Schwartzel, South Africa

Adam Scott, Australia

United States team

Captain: Jay Haas

Rickie Fowler

c-Bill Haas

J.B. Holmes (replaces Jim Furyk, who withdrew)

Dustin Johnson

Zach Johnson

Chris Kirk

Matt Kuchar

c-Phil Mickelson

Patrick Reed

Jordan Spieth

Jimmy Walker

Bubba Watson