Jen Smith on UK Football

Here’s how head referee explained ejection of Kentucky’s Benny Snell from Music City Bowl

Stoops reacts to Snell’s ejection, final play call

Head coach Mark Stoops answers questions on the attempt at a two-point conversion and the referee's decision to eject Benny Snell Jr. from the Music City Bowl game at Nissan Stadium.
Up Next
Head coach Mark Stoops answers questions on the attempt at a two-point conversion and the referee's decision to eject Benny Snell Jr. from the Music City Bowl game at Nissan Stadium.

Transcript from the Franklin American Mortage Music City Bowl interview with the designated pool reporter and head referee Chris Coyte, who ejected Kentucky’s Benny Snell in the second half:

Clarification of Benny Snell ejection: “I was on top of the play. And the player got up and grabbed my arms and pushed them away and contacted me. That’s a foul.”

Did Snell say anything beyond the contact that influenced the ejection? “No”

Can there be incidental contact between a player and an official? “Yes”

Was this contact incidental? “It was not.”

Is it accurate to phrase this as ‘intentional contact’? “That’s how I ruled. Yes.”

  Comments