Transcript from the Franklin American Mortage Music City Bowl interview with the designated pool reporter and head referee Chris Coyte, who ejected Kentucky’s Benny Snell in the second half:
Clarification of Benny Snell ejection: “I was on top of the play. And the player got up and grabbed my arms and pushed them away and contacted me. That’s a foul.”
Did Snell say anything beyond the contact that influenced the ejection? “No”
Can there be incidental contact between a player and an official? “Yes”
Digital Access For Only $0.99
For the most comprehensive local coverage, subscribe today.
Was this contact incidental? “It was not.”
Is it accurate to phrase this as ‘intentional contact’? “That’s how I ruled. Yes.”