Focus on: Golf this week


Bridgestone Invitational

Where: Akron, Ohio

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Firestone Country Club, South Course (7,400 yards, par 70)

Purse: $8.5 million ($1.4 million to the winner)

TV: Golf (2-6 p.m. Thursday-Friday ; noon-1:30 p.m. Saturday; 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Sunday) and CBS-27 (2-6 p.m. Saturday-Sunday)

Last year: Tiger Woods became the first player in PGA Tour history to win seven times on the same course, finishing with consecutive 65s for a four-stroke victory over Padraig Harrington and Robert Allenby. Harrington took a one-stroke lead to the 16th but made a triple-bogey 8 and fell three strokes behind when Woods birdied after hitting an 8-iron to a foot.

Notes: The PGA Championship is next week at Whistling Straits in Wisconsin. ... Woods, making his eighth start of the year, swept the 1999-2001 and 2005-07 titles. In 2000, he won by 11 strokes, matching the course record with a 61 en route to a tournament-record 21-under 259 total. In 2001, he beat Jim Furyk with a birdie on the seventh extra hole. ... British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen is making his first appearance in the event. ... Masters champion Phil Mickelson is coming off a 48th-place tie in the British Open. ... Anthony Kim is playing for the first time since having surgery May 5 to repair a torn ligament in his left thumb. Kentuckians J.B. Holmes (8:30 a.m. tee time Thursday) and Kenny Perry (9:10) are in the field.


Turning Stone Resort Championship

Where: Verona, N.Y.

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Atunyote Golf Club at Turning Stone Resort (7,482 yards, par 72)

Purse: $4 million ($720,000 to the winner)

TV: Golf (6:30-8:30 p.m. Thursday; 6:30-8:30 p.m. Friday; 6:30-9 p.m. Saturday; 7-9 p.m. Sunday)

Last year: Matt Kuchar won in a Monday finish, beating Vaughn Taylor with a par on the sixth hole of a playoff. Play was suspended because of darkness Sunday after two extra holes. Kuchar also won the 2002 Honda Classic.

Notes: Kentuckians Josh Teater (12:11 p.m. tee time Thursday) and Steve Flesch are in the field (7:45 a.m.).


3M Championship

Where: Blaine, Minn.

When: Friday-Sunday

Course: TPC Twin Cities (7,100 yards, par 72)

Purse: $1.75 million ($262,500 to the winner)

TV: Golf (noon-1:30 p.m. Friday; 3-6 p.m. SaturdaySunday)

Last year: Bernhard Langer won the last of his four 2009 titles, chipping in for eagle on the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Andy Bean.

Notes: Langer has four victories this season and 12 in 68 starts in parts of four senior seasons. ... Minnesotan Tom Lehman, the Senior PGA Championship winner in late May at Colorado Golf Club, is making his first start in the event. He teamed with Arnold Palmer to design the TPC Twin Cities. Kentuckian Russ Cochran tees off at 10:45 a.m. Thursday.


Wichita Open

Where: Wichita, Kan.

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Crestview Country Club, North Course (6,959 yards, par 71)

Purse: $625,000 ($112,500 to the winner)

TV: None

Last year: Chris Tidland made a 20-foot eagle putt on the final hole for a one-stroke victory over Dave Schultz and Chad Collins.

Notes: Jamie Lovemark leads the money list with $346,621. Tommy Gainey, a two-time winner this year, is second with $327,182, and Piller is third at $318,621. The final top 25 will earn 2011 PGA Tour cards.



DURAMED FUTURES TOUR: Pennsylvania Classic, Friday-Sunday, The Golf Club at Felicita, Harrisburg, Pa. Former University of Louisville standout Cindy LaCrosse won last week's Alliance Bank Golf Classic and leads the tour's money list with $70,307. The top five earn full exempt status on the LPGA Tour next season. Glasgow natives Whitney Wade and Taryn Durham are also in the field.

Associated Press