Focus on: Golf this week

Focus on: Golf this week



Where: Lake Forest, Ill.

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Conway Farms Golf Club (7,216 yards, par 71)

Purse: $8 million ($1.44 million to the winner)

TV: Golf (3-6 p.m. Thursday-Friday; 1-5 p.m. Saturday; noon-5 p.m. Sunday) and NBC-18 (3-6 p.m. Saturday; 1:30-6 p.m. Sunday)

Last year: Rory McIlroy won at Crooked Stick in Indiana for his second straight FedEx Cup victory and fourth PGA Tour win of the year.

Notes: The top 70 in the FedEx Cup standings qualified for the third of the four playoff events. The field will be cut to 30 for the Tour Championship next week at East Lake in Atlanta. ... Henrik Stenson has 4,051 points. Tiger Woods is second with 4,037, followed by Masters champion Adam Scott (3,917) and Matt Kuchar (3,103). ... McIlroy is 41st in the standings. ... Hunter Mahan is the only player to play in every event in FedEx Cup playoffs history. He's 18th in the standings.



Where: Evian-les-Bains, France

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Evian Masters Golf Club (6,465 yards, par 71)

Purse: $3.25 million ($487,500 to the winner)

TV: Golf (7:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Thursday-Friday; 6:30-11:30 a.m. Saturday; 8:30 a.m.-noon Sunday) and NBC-18 (noon-1:30 p.m. Sunday)

Last year: South Korea's Inbee Park closed with a 6-under 66 for a two-stroke victory over Stacy Lewis and Karrie Webb.

Notes: The tournament is a major championship for the first time, giving the tour five majors. ... The top-ranked Park swept the first three majors — the Kraft Nabisco, LPGA Championship and U.S. Women's Open — and has three other LPGA Tour victories this season. ... Stacy Lewis won the Women's British Open for her third victory of the year. ... Lydia Ko is coming off her successful title defense in the Canadian Women's Open, the 16-year-old amateur's fourth victory in professional events. ... Ai Miyazato won in 2009 and 2011.



Where: Columbus, Ohio

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Ohio State University Golf Club, Scarlet Course (7,455 yards, par 71)

Purse: $1 million ($180,000 to the winner)

TV: Golf (6:30-8:30 p.m. Thursday-Saturday; 7-9 p.m. Sunday)

Last year: Ben Kohles won the July event in his pro debut, beating Luke Guthrie with a birdie on the first hole of a playoff.

Notes: The tournament is the third in the four-event Tour Finals. The Tour Championship is Sept. 26-29 in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. ... The bulk of the field is made up of players in the top 75 on the Tour money list and Nos. 126-200 in the PGA Tour's FedEx Cup standings. The top 25 on the money list are assured PGA Tour cards for the 2013-14 season, while the other players are fighting for 25 additional cards through earnings in the finals. The series money leader will be fully exempt and earn a spot in The Players Championship.



Where: Zandvoort, Netherlands

When: Thursday-Sunday

Course: Kennemer Golf & Country Club (6,626, par 70)

Purse: $2.37 million ($395,280 to the winner)

TV: Golf (12:30-2:30 p.m. Thursday-Friday; 2-6 a.m. Sunday)

Last year: Sweden's Peter Hanson won at Hilversumsche, holing a 35-foot eagle putt on the final hole for a two-stroke victory.

Associated Press