High School Sports

National conference for sports officials comes to Louisville this weekend

Officiate Kentucky Day logo
Officiate Kentucky Day logo

The KHSAA will host Officiate Kentucky Day, an event designed to educate officials and celebrate their involvement in sports, this Saturday in Louisville.

The one-day gathering will serve as a kickoff for the National Association of Sports Officials Annual Summit, which begins Sunday and runs through Tuesday at the Mariott Louisville Downtown hotel.

More than 650 officials across Kentucky are expected to be in Louisville this weekend. That’s about 15 percent of the officials licensed by the KHSAA, which is a higher percentage than is usually expected when a state hosts the annual officiating summit.

“We can’t let anymore in, which is a great problem to have,” KHSAA Assistant Commissioner Butch Cope said.

Cope said that other states that have held the NASO summit have seen a boost in their numer of licensed officials in the year that they’ve hosted the event.

The KHSAA also will conduct its annual Outstanding Official of the Year awards program for the 2016-17 season on Saturday. Normally that’s done as part of a banquet at the KHSAA office in Lexington.

“We wanted to showcase officiating all day on Saturday, so we’re gonna recognize those people and have a luncheon there for them as well,” Cope said.

Fox Sports Analyst Mike Pereira, formerly the Vice President of Officiating for the NFL, will serve as the keynote speaker on Saturday.

Click here for a complete schedule for Officiate Kentucky Day.

Outstanding Official of the Year nominees

Baseball — Bryan Hockman (Russellville), Kyle Maggard (Hazard), Randy Ross (Morehead)

Basketball — Molly Caldwell (Lexington), Kristie Combs (Hazard), Tim Trent (Pikeville), Barry Vincent (Bowling Green)

Competitive cheer — Judy Lowry (Lexington), Ruth Sorace (Elizabethtown)

Field hockey — Mary Brainard (Lexington), Craig Kalbfleisch (Louisville)

Football — Joe Ammerman (Cynthiana), Tyrone Fields (Whitesburg), Brian Taylor (Russell)

Soccer — Keith Green (Wingo), Eric Morwessel (Ft. Wright)

Softball — Mike Carby (Bowling Green), Chuck Standiford (Hopkinsville)

Swimming & diving— Paul Dole (Corbin), Alan Hall (Russellville)

Track and field/Cross country — David Clark (Dry Ridge), Kenny Morton (Louisville)

Volleyball — Ben de Jesus (Louisville), Molly Gubser (Independence)

Wrestling — Mike Ford (Georgetown), Jason Sedoris (Louisville)

Larry G. Boucher, Jr. Supervisor of the Year — TBA