Josh Moore

Football: Best of the Bluegrass set for Sunday

Lafayette's Mason Alstatt (1) ran the ball during the first half as Lafayette played Male in the 6A State Championship on Saturday Dec. 5, 2015 in Bowling Green, Ky.
Lafayette's Mason Alstatt (1) ran the ball during the first half as Lafayette played Male in the 6A State Championship on Saturday Dec. 5, 2015 in Bowling Green, Ky. Herald-Leader

The sixth annual Best of the Bluegrass all-star football game, which pits high school players from across Kentucky against players from the Greater Louisville area, is this Sunday at St. Xavier. The Kentucky roster features more than a dozen players from Lexington and the surrounding area.

Eight players from six Lexington schools were named to the team, including three from Bryan Station: Mason Alstatt (Lafayette), Andre Davis (Bryan Station), Mikel Horton (Bryan Station), Jaylen Jones (Lexington Catholic), Devon Key (Bryan Station), Robbie Lofton (Tates Creek), Davonte Robinson (Henry Clay) and Will Southall (Lexington Christian).

Scott Co. had four players named to the team: Keith Guy, Trey Binder, Jeremiah Happy and Tyler Dummer. Madison Central’s Will Ulmer made the squad, as did Braxton Bradshaw of Mercer Co.. Danville’s Stephen Ray also made the team.

Greater Louisville is 4-1 all time in the series.

Below are the rosters for each team listed by position and in alphabetical order.

Kentucky Roster

QB—Riley Hall, Pulaski Co.; Austin Hergott, Highlands

RB—Keith Guy, Scott Co.; Jaylen Jones, LexCath; Dillon Powell, Simon Kenton

WR—Andre Davis, Bryan Station; Charles Gaines, Lloyd Memorial; Robbie Lofton, Tates Creek; Brett Slusher, Beechwood; Josh Young, Caldwell Co.

TE—John Stratton, Daviess Co.

OL—Trey Binder, Scott Co.; Jordan Felker, Caldwell Co.; Nate Murray, Bell Co.; Evan Richardson, Highlands; David Sandlin, Simon Kenton; Will Southall, LCA; Will Ulmer, Madison Central; Lucas Williams, Owensboro

DL—Jeremiah Happy, Scott Co.; Johnny Hernandez, Mayfield; Mikel Horton, Bryan Station; Tre Hornbuckle, Murray; Tucker Mueller, Simon Kenton; Justin Overstreet, Beechwood; Marcus Watson, Cooper

LB—Tavian Board, Owensboro; Braxton Bradshaw, Mercer Co.; Devante Colton, South Warren; Mason Helton, Pulaski Co.; Stephen Ray, Danville

DB—Mason Alstatt, Lafayette; Dee Cain, Caldwell Co.; Tre Fant, Bowling Green; T.J. James, Owensboro; Devon Key, Bryan Station; Davonte Robinson, Henry Clay; Damani Walker, Warren Central

P/K—Derek Burgett, Pulaski Co.; Tyler Dummer, Scott Co.

Greater Louisville Roster

(As reported by the Courier-Journal’s Jason Frakes)

QB—Tim Comstock, Manual; Hayden Shelton, Male

RB—Xavier Arnette, Central Hardin; Devin Gentry, Male; Logan Holbrook, Spencer Co.; Starr Thompson, South Oldham; Jamison White, Fern Creek

WR—Kambrin Brown, Central; Clay Davis, Louisville Christian; Ethan Tuggle, Henry Co.; Zack White, Central

TE—Anthony Southers, Central

OL—Isaiah Arnold, Male; Logan Ashkettle, South Oldham; Matthew Boeckmann, St. Xavier; Evan Flener, Fern Creek; William Garcia, Butler; Kyle Goss, Collins; Jalen Jacob, Manual; Cody Wells, DeSales

DL—Ethan Adams, St. Xavier; Marcus Davis Male; Omardrick Douglas, Ballard; Marcus Harbin, Iroquois; Tre Mills, South Oldham; Tony Smyzer, Male

LB—Logan Butler, St. Xavier; Aaron Duncan, Central; Isaiah Kelly, Oldham Co.; Marcel Kilgore, Pleasure Ridge Park; Lamarius Kinslow, Fern Creek; Jack Kuerzi, Male; Antonio Watkins, Butler

DB—Omari Alexander, Manual; Demetrius Holt; Darion Keener, John Hardin; Jaylin Talbott, Southern

P/K—Austin Johnson, DeSales; Jalin Troutman, Bullitt East

Josh Moore: 859-231-1307, @HLpreps

Best of the Bluegrass

What: All-Star game between Greater Louisville players and Kentucky players

Where: St. Xavier High School

When: 2 p.m. Sunday

Tickets: $10 (Kids six-and-under free)