High School Baseball

Henry Clay beats Bryan Station for third straight 42nd District baseball title

As the Henry Clay baseball team posed for pictures after Wednesday's 6-5 victory over 12th-ranked Bryan Station, players held up three fingers.

The third time was a charm, after Bryan Station had beaten the Blue Devils 2-1 and 4-0 during the regular season.

James Hendron's third-inning, three-run homer put Henry Clay ahead to stay.

And the win at Sayre's Chase Comley Field gave Henry Clay a third 42nd District title in a row.

Both teams knew coming in that they would advance to the 11th Region tourney.

Still, "you always want to win every time you step on the field, especially if it's the championship game of a district," Defenders Coach Eddie Brooks said. "We played hard."

"It meant a whole lot to me because that was a three-peat for Henry Clay, and I've been on all three teams," Hendron said. "We didn't want them to sweep us because we had a sweep last year."

Henry Clay's Walker Bueh ler was named tourney MVP for firing a three-hit shutout Tuesday against Scott County and going 2-for-6 with two RBI over two games.

"That's my first one," he said of his award. "Pretty happy, but it's a team game."

Bryan Station (19-10) threatened in the seventh inning. Ryne Combs knocked a two-out triple and Michael Bollmer drew an intentional walk from Clay Wallace, who was working in relief of Derek Bush. Wallace then struck out the next batter to end it.

Combs, a lefty, struck out the first three Henry Clay batters, then got hit by a pitch to open the bottom of the first.

Bollmer followed with a homer over the 375-foot sign in straightaway center.

"I was proud of our guys because when Bollmer hit that home run ... and Combs struck out the side, everything was going their way," Devils Coach Jordan Tarrence said. "But we had some good at-bats against Combs," who dominated Henry Clay earlier this season.

Henry Clay (21-15) scored one in the second as Field Engle doubled, then scored from there on Bush's two-out infield single, plus an error.

Infield singles by Corey Bays and Wallace set the stage for Hendron's third-inning blast to left field.

"I was one of the three that got struck out in the first inning — three up, three down," Hendron said. "But shook it off, came up there, was hyped, saw first pitch, hit it. Knew it was coming."

Bryan Station's Brady Boling clubbed an RBI double in the fourth, but Henry Clay scored twice in the fifth.

Buehler had tripled in one and scored on Zane Ragan's double.

Bryan Station scored twice in the sixth. Christopher LaPorte doubled in a run, took third on a wild pitch and scored on Boling's groundout.

Henry Clay 013 020 0—6 10 0

Bryan Station 200 102 0—5 7 1

Bush, Wallace (6) and Hendron; Combs, Hagen (5), Redmon (6) and Boling. 2B—Engle, Ragan, HC; Boling, LaPorte, BS. 3B—Buehler, HC; Combs, BS. HR—Hendron, HC; Bollmer, BS.

All-tournament team — Matt Hannabach, Derek Jarvis, Scott Co.; Cabot Haggin, Sayre; Ryne Combs, Christopher LaPorte, Brady Boling, Bryan Station; Field Engle, Corey Bays, James Hendron, Henry Clay. MVP — Walker Buehler, Henry Clay.