High School Baseball

Christian Co.'s Joiner named Miss Softball

Christian County pitcher and slugger Griffin Joiner was named Miss Softball for the 2011 season by the state's coaches on Monday.

Joiner was the Colonels' ace, going 20-2 with a 1.73 ERA this season. She also hit .654 with 18 homers and 66 RBI, according to the Courier-Journal.

The Kentucky Softball Coaches Association also named All-State teams in each of the three classes. Lafayette's Alyssa Oakley made the first team for Class 3A. Lexington Catholic's Lindsay Griggs made it for 2A.

Full list below:

Class 3A

First team

Miss Softball: Griffin Joiner, Christian Co.

Player of the year: Kayla Fairley, Ballard

Alyssa Oakley, Lafayette

Kristina Krupinski, Central Hardin

Tanner Tevis, Scott Co.

Erin Charles, Montgomery Co.

Gloriann Cordero, North Laurel

Casey Castile, Christian Co.

Angie Adkins, Greenwood

Andrea Whelan, North Hardin

Second team: Lindsey Stephens, Pulaski Co.; Amy Haggard, Clark Co.; Elizabeth Moss, Greenwood; Jordyn Willoughby, Montgomery Co.; Scarlett Powers, Meade Co.; Sara Paragon, Pleasure Ridge Park; Maggie Glass, Christian Co.; Cassie Hamilton, Ryle; Katelyn Roy, Grant Co.; Kelsey Hicks, Butler

Honorable mention: Madison Wise, Ballard; Jordan Decker, Grayson Co.; Lauren Mitchell, Lafayette; Haylee Smith, Ryle; Hannah Gray, Ballard; Cassidy Taylor, Lafayette; Kristin Benton, Meade Co.; Morgan Foley, Assumption; Ashley Hughes, Central Hardin; Katie Bunch, Eastern; Jessica Leanhart, Oldham Co.; Brittany Vaughn, Bowling Green; Maggie Shell, Paul Laurence Dunbar

Coaching staff of the year: Christian County

Class 2A

First team

Player of the year: Kelsi Pardue, Allen Co. Scottsville

CheyAnne Gaskey, Butler Co.

Lindsay Griggs, Lexington Catholic

Taylor Borders, Allen Co. Scottsville

Katelyn Miller, Ashland Blazer

JJ Francis, Mercy Academy

Emily Hampton, Franklin Co.

Sarah Williams, Johnson Central

Brooklyn Hesterberg, Rowan Co.

Allison Foster, Louisville Christian

Second team: Kelsee Hammonds, Ashland Blazer; Kelsey Wood, Mercy Academy; Hannah Hart, Corbin; Ali Austin, Hopkins Co. Central; Hailey Dawes, Estill Co.; Kristin Boggess, Calloway Co.; Jill Maronde, Lexington Catholic; Kaitlin Brown, Boyd Co.; Bethany Davis, East Jessamine; Megan Boswell, Powell Co.; Taylor Proctor, South Warren; Krystal Cammuse, Western Hills

Honorable mention: ; Hollie McCarty, East Ridge; Lindsey Edwards, Boyle Co.; Kristen Slusher, Bell Co.; Catie Yates, Allen Co.-Scottsville; Chloe Blair, Johnson Central; Ashley Flener, Hopkins Co. Central; KK Davis, Boyle Co.; Tabby Shewmaker, Mercer Co.; Emily Stewart, Boyd Co.; Whitney Mullins, East Ridge; Lacinda Hack, Franklin Co.

Coaching staff of the year: Allen Co.-Scottsville

Class A

First team

Player of the year: Erica Howard, Reidland

Kasey Estes, Green Co.

Jenalee Ginn, Walton Verona

Brandi Jo Howard, Magoffin Co.

Shelby Ray, Glasgow

Alicia Miller, Bishop Brossart

Taylor Sheerer, Heath

Rebecca Miller, Louisville Holy Cross

Hope Davidson, Reidland

Alexis Watts, Jenkins

Second team: Lena Reynolds, West Carter; Alayna LaPaille, Louisville Holy Cross; Jade Hayes, Green Co.; Carly Kaelin, Owensboro Catholic; Kayla Stambaugh, Jenkins; Andrea McBride, Owensboro Catholic; Kalie Harbison, Reidland; Rachel Marr, Green Co.; Lindsay Griffith, Bishop Brossart; Sara Sticklen, Bracken Co.; Caroline Webb, Heath

Honorable mention: Katelyn Kinne, Heath; Danielle Hausfeld, Newport Catholic; McKenzie Hopkins, Nicholas Co.; Lindsey Isner, Pikeville; Michaela Rose, Barbourville; Christie Jewell, Metcalfe Co.; Anne Czerwonka, Louisville Collegiate; Taylor Estes, Danville; Hailee Murphy, Heath; Hayley Frey, Owensboro Catholic; Heather Hayden, Reidland; Blair Dennison, Glasgow

Coaching staff of the year: Green Co.