High School Baseball

42nd District baseball: Scott County knocks off Henry Clay; Bryan Station cruises

Host Scott County upset No. 19 Henry Clay 2-1 in the 42nd District semifinals Monday night.

Henry Clay took a 1-0 lead in the second when Sam Smith was hit by a pitch and came home on Walker Buehler's double.

But the Cardinals scratched out a run in the third and one in the fifth off Buehler, Henry Clay's senior ace.

Bo Saunders singled and eventually scored on Hunter Jones' fielder's choice. Scott County got the go-ahead run two innings later when Connor Showalter doubled, was sacrificed to third and scored on Nick Smith's grounder.

William Warman picked up the win for the Cards. He pitched five innings, struck out six and gave up three hits. After a lightning delay, Cody Grigsby closed it out with two perfect innings, including four strikeouts.

Buehler went six innings, gave up five hits and had eight K's.

Scott County plays host to Bryan Station at 6 p.m. Tuesday in the district finals.

Scott County 001 010 0—2 5 0

Henry Clay 100 000 0—1 3 0

William Warman, Cody Grigsby (6) and Brian Malesick. Walker Buehler, Clay Wallace (7) and Jordan Seeberger. 2B--Buehler (HC), Connor Showalter (SC).

Records—Scott Co. 16-18-1; Henry Clay 20-13.

Bryan Station 14, Sayre 0: The 10th-ranked Defenders had no trouble in their 42nd District semifinal.

Ryne Combs, a senior left-hander who has signed with Kentucky, was dominant on the mound. He gave up just one hit, struck out 10 and walked none in the five-inning mercy-rule game.

Bryan Station's Michael Morton had two hits, two runs and four RBI and Brandon Mayle-George had three runs and drove in three.

Sayre 000 00— 0 1 3

Bryan Station 527 0x—14 8 1

Ray Brewer, Michael Flora (3) and Chase Deppen. Ryne Combs and Jordan Lewis. 2B--Michael Bollmer (BS).

Records—Sayre 17-15; Bryan Station 25-12