High School Basketball

High school basketball district highlights

Vance Hall took MVP honors, Andy Donovan logged a double-double and No. 13 Franklin County defeated Western Hills 71-38 for the 41st District title at the Frankfort Convention Center Friday night.

Hall, a junior guard, had 18 points, seven rebounds and seven assists in the championship game. Donovan chipped in with 12 points and 12 rebounds.

Madison Central 64, Madison Southern 39 (44th): Keshawn Simpson and Vince Clay both turned in double-doubles and the Indians beat their county rivals for the district title at Eastern Kentucky's McBrayer Arena. Simpson scored 18 points to go with 13 rebounds, and Clay had 14 points, 10 rebounds and four steals while making four three-pointers. Eagles guard Carrington Roberts led all scorers with 19 points.

Perry Co. Central 45, No. 22 Hazard 42 (54th): Senior center Klay Maggard made the go-ahead free throws with 50 seconds remaining and the Commodores held on to win the district title at Leslie County. Maggard had 17 points, 11 rebounds and three blocked shots.

No. 18 Anderson County 55, Shelby County 49 (30th): C.J. Penny scored a game-high 23 points to give the Bearcats a win on their home court.

No. 12 Holmes 64, Beechwood 43 (35th): Jeremiah Johnson had a double-double and Elijah Pittman was one rebound shy of the feat in Holmes' district championship win at Covington Holy Cross. Johnson tallied 15 points, 11 rebounds and three steals, and Pittman chipped in with 13 points and nine boards.

Harrison County 62, Deming 54 (38th): The host Thorobreds went 20-for-27 from the foul line in the fourth quarter alone to clinch the district championship. Senior guard Fonz Custard scored 17 points and senior forward Ryan Puckett added 15 points for the Thorobreds, who had just three free-throw attempts in the first three quarters and scored 20 of their 26 fourth-quarter points from the foul line.

No. 24 Moore 92, Atherton 83 (26th): Senior guard Eric Mosley scored 41 points to lead the Mustangs to a district title victory on their own court. Mosley was 19-for-31 from the field and pulled down 11 rebounds to go with four assists and four steals.

Scott 48, Bishop Brossart 44 (37th): Sophomore guard Kellen Smith hit the game-tying three-pointer with 11 seconds left and added two go-ahead free throws a few seconds later to give the Eagles a district title victory at Campbell County. Smith, who scored 15 points, was named the tournament's MVP.


Franklin County 60, Western Hills 33 (41st): Junior guard Andrea Howard won district MVP honors after scoring 15 points to help the Flyers win their second straight district title at Frankfort Convention Center. Freshman forward Ashli Mayes led the Flyers with 16 points.

No. 13 Marion County 63, Adair County 45 (20th): Eighth-grade guard Makayla Epps, the daughter of former Kentucky point guard Anthony Epps, scored a game-high 16 points to lead Marion County to the district title at Adair County.

Owen County 38, Carroll County 30, 2OT (31st): Freshman guard Rianna Gayheart scored all seven points in the first overtime and the Lady Rebels never lost the lead in the second overtime to win the district title at Carroll County.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader