Beshear names 5, including 2 new members, to Kentucky Horse Racing Commission

Gov. Steve Beshear
Gov. Steve Beshear Herald-Leader

FRANKFORT — Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed two new members and reappointed three to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

The 15-member panel is an independent agency of state government responsible for regulating horse racing and parimutuel wagering in the state.

The new and reappointed members will serve terms that expire July 1, 2018.

New members are Bourbon County horse farm owner and manager Steve Hunter Stewart and Frankfort attorney Clayton B. Patrick.

Stewart replaces Alan Joel Leavitt, president and general manager of Walnut Hill Ltd. in Lexington, whose term expired.

Patrick replaces veterinarian Foster Harold Northrop, whose term expired.

Reappointed to the commission were Allan Wade Houston of Prospect, Elizabeth Stone Lavin of Goshen and Neil Allan Howard of Lexington.

Beshear also appointed Elizabeth Anne Ruwe to the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education to serve a term expiring June 30, 2016.

Ruwe, of Cincinnati, is a graduate student. She represents student members on the board that oversees higher education in the state. She replaces Joshua Tunning, whose term has expired.