Beshear names longtime supporter to University of Kentucky board, Lukas to racing panel

Gov. Steve Beshear during a July 10, 2013, news conference concerning the plans for a massive Rupp Arena makeover. Photo by Charles Bertram | Staff
Gov. Steve Beshear during a July 10, 2013, news conference concerning the plans for a massive Rupp Arena makeover. Photo by Charles Bertram | Staff Herald-Leader

Gov. Steve Beshear has appointed one of his longtime supporters to the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees and well-known horse trainer D. Wayne Lukas to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

James H. Booth of Inez, one of three people named Friday to the UK board, is a coal executive with Matrix Energy. He donated more than $100,000 for Beshear's 2011 inauguration and was a member of the governor's blue ribbon commission on tax reform. Booth previously served on the board of regents for Morehead State University.

Also picked for the UK board were former newspaper editor David Hawpe, who worked for The Courier-Journal in Louisville for more than 40 years before retiring in 2009, and Angela L. Edwards, a Louisville lawyer with Dinsmore & Shohl. Edwards previously served on the Executive Branch Ethics Commission, a state watchdog agency and, according to Dinsmore's website, the board of trustees of Transylvania University and St. Catharine College.

Booth, Hawpe and Edwards were appointed to six-year terms that expire June 30, 2019.

In addition to Lukas, Beshear appointed Dr. James David Richardson to the racing commission; both are from Louisville. He reappointed Frank L. Jones of Louisville, CEO of Recreonics; Burr James Travis, a Fort Mitchell lawyer; and Dr Jerry Yon of Lexington. All five will serve terms that expire July 1, 2016.

Beshear named two new trustees for the University of Louisville — Stephen P. Campbell, an investment banker from Goshen, and Robert Benson Jr., a Louisville lawyer — and reappointed Emily S. Bingham, a Louisville historian. They will serve until June 30, 2019.

Also appointed to boards of regents, with terms expiring June 30, 2019, were:

■ Karen W. Bearden, a Frankfort management consultant, Kentucky State University.

■ Dr. Kevin W. Pugh of Pikeville, Morehead State University.

■ Susan S. Guess, senior executive at Paducah Bank, Murray State University.

■ Andra' R. Ward of Cincinnati, CEO of Khafre Ward Corp., Northern Kentucky University.

■ Gillard B. Johnson, a Nicholasville lawyer, Western Kentucky University.

■ Donald Tarter of Dunn ville, self-employed, Kentucky Community and Technical College System.

Beshear reappointed the following to the Kentucky Authority for Educational Television to serve terms expiring June 30, 2017:

■ Suvas G. Desai of Lexington, a physician employed by St. Joseph Medical Foundation.

■ Heidi S. Margulis of Louisville, senior vice president, public affairs, Humana Inc.

The governor also reappointed three members of the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority board of directors and Kentucky Higher Education Student Loan Corp. board of directors; their terms expire June 15, 2017:

■ Erica L. Horn of Lexington, a lawyer with Stoll Keenon Ogden:.

■ Kristi P. Nelson of Union, a lawyer with Pomeroy IT Solutions Inc.

■ Barbara S. Smith, of Louisville, president and CEO, Fund for the Arts.