Cincinnati Reds

Triple Crown watch: Votto vs. Pujols

First basemen Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds and Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals are each within striking distance of becoming the National League's first Triple Crown winner in 73 years.

A Triple Crown in baseball constitutes leading the league in batting average, home runs and runs batted in.

The last player to win a Triple Crown was Carl Yastrzemski of the American League's Boston Red Sox in 1967. The last NL winner was Joe Medwick of the St. Louis Cardinals in 1937.

Here is how Votto and Pujols stood through Saturday's games:

Votto Category Pujols

32Home runs35

T2NL rank1

.326Batting average.320

1NL rankT2


2NL rank1