NASCAR & Auto Racing

Focus on: Auto racing this week

Focus on: Auto racing this week


NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

Where: Concord, N.C.

When: Saturday, Sprint Showdown, 7:30 p.m.; NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, 9 p.m. (Speed, 7 p.m.)

Track: Lowe's Motor Speedway (quad-oval, 1.5 miles)

Distances: Sprint Showdown, 60 miles, 40 laps; NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, 150 miles, 100 laps in segments of 50, 20, 20 and 10, with only green-flag laps counting in the final segment.

Last year: Kasey Kahne won the non-points event after getting into the 24-car field in a fan vote. Kahne also won the Coca-Cola 600 the following week at Lowe's.

Fast facts: The top two finishers in the Sprint Showdown and a driver selected in fan voting will complete the 21-car All-Star field. Kahne, Mark Martin, Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart, Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman earned spots with race victories in 2008 and '09. Kevin Harvick qualified with his 2007 All-Star victory, and Bobby Labonte got in as the 2000 series champion. ... There will be a mandatory green-flag stop on lap 25, with teams required to change four tires. Between the first two segments, there will be a yellow-flag period allowing for fuel, tire changes and normal chassis adjustments. Between the third and final segments, there will be a 10-minute pit stop. ... The winner will receive $1,022,975. ... On Thursday, 24 crews will compete in the Pit Crew Challenge. Each of the seven over-the-wall pit-crew positions will compete for a $10,000 prize. The finishing order will decide the selection order of pit stalls for the All-Star Race.


North Carolina Education Lottery 200

Where: Concord, N.C.

When: Friday, 8 p.m. (Speed)

Track: Lowe's Motor Speedway (quad-oval, 1.5 miles)

Distance: 201 miles, 134 laps

Last year: Matt Crafton raced to his first series victory, successfully blocking Chad McCumbee's pass attempt on the final lap. Brendan Gaughan was third.

Fast facts: Mike Skinner leads the season standings with 801 points, followed by Ron Hornaday Jr. (776), Todd Bodine (744), Crafton (707) and Johnny Benson (685).


Next race: Carquest Auto Parts 300, May 23, Lowe's Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.


NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals

Where: Bristol, Tenn.

When: Friday-Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Saturday, 6 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 7 p.m.)

Track: Bristol Dragway

Last year: Melanie Troxel became the first female driver and 14th overall to win in both nitro classes, beating Mike Neff in the Funny Car finals. Tony Schumacher won the Top Fuel division, beating Larry Dixon. Dave Connolly topped the Pro Stock field.


Next race: Indianapolis 500, May 24, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis


Next race: Monaco Grand Prix, May 24, Monte Carlo, Monaco


ARCA RE/MAX SERIES: Menards 200, Sunday, Toledo Speedway, Toledo, Ohio

Associated Press