Other Sports

Herald-Leader journalists receive multiple awards for sports coverage

Clockwise from top left: Jennifer Smith, Alex Slitz, Mark Story, Josh Moore, Caitlyn Stroh and Matt Goins.
Clockwise from top left: Jennifer Smith, Alex Slitz, Mark Story, Josh Moore, Caitlyn Stroh and Matt Goins.

The Lexington Herald-Leader and Kentucky.com were honored this week with several sports journalism awards.

The annual Associated Press Sports Editors contest announced its national awards, and the Herald-Leader’s daily and Sunday Sports sections received Top 10 recognition, the highest possible honor, for their circulation category. The Herald-Leader’s sports coverage on Kentucky.com, KentuckySports.com and the Next Cats recruiting page received honorable mention in the APSE’s digital category.

Additionally, Herald-Leader writers Mark Story and Josh Moore won Top 10 honors in the APSE writing contest’s Project division for their work on “The Sweetest Century,” a series of stories commemorating the 100th anniversary of the boys’ state high school basketball tournament.

Story also claimed a Top 10 award for column writing for the second year in a row. His entry included columns on the University of Louisville basketball scandal, the NCAA Tournament, and the story of ex-Cat Jody Thompson’s life-saving kidney transplant.

Jennifer Smith, who covers University of Kentucky football and women’s basketball, was honored with a Top 10 award for beat writing. Her works included a feature on Mark Stoops’ family and breaking news on the renaming of Commonwealth Stadium to Kroger Field.

Herald-Leader videographers Caitlyn Stroh and Alex Slitz and freelance photographer Matt Goins received the highest APSE honor available for multimedia, claiming a Top 5 for their work on “Opening Drive,” a video documentary that chronicled the first season of football at the new Frederick Douglass High School in Lexington.

Additionally, Smith was recently named Kentucky Sportswriter of the Year by the National Sports Media Association, and UK basketball beat writer Jerry Tipton received the Tom Hammond Kentucky Sports Media Award.