Other Sports

Youth bowling tournament sees 20% increase

The 27th Greater Lexington USBC Youth Association Tournament concluded Feb. 14 at Collins Bowling Centers-Eastland. The two-day event saw a 20 percent increase in participation this year over last with bowlers from Lexington and Nicholasville competing.

The A division team champions were the Southland 2 team with a 2,744 handicapped total. The team members were Steven Fagan, Matt Fitch, Corey Gillespie and Dylan Boggs.

The B division champions were the Spares & Strikes squad from Eastland with a 2,642. The team members were Sarah Childers, Erica Underwood, Maggie Horton and Maria Childers.

The C division went to the Stikers from Strike Zone with a 2,611. The D division winners were 3 Guys & A Girl from Strike Zone with a 2,650.

In the singles competition, the A division champ was David Lewis with a 790 total. The B division winner was Jeremy Noe, 745; C division Kyle Hammond, 775; D division Madeline Horton, 688; E division Darcey Brown, 686; and F division Bailey Watkins, 738.

The doubles winners were A division Ben Pallardy and Parth Parekh, 1,403; B division Allison Kash and Chester Hukle, 1,440; C division Ryder Mattmiller and Emma Paul, 1,310; D division Wesley Yazell and Corey Smith, 1,329; and F division Shelia Houp and Bailey Watkins, 1,316.

The all-events winners in A were Brandon Hill, 2,152 in the handicapped division, and Matt Fitch, 2,000 in the scratch division. In B, Jeremy Noe took both titles with a 2,200 handicapped and 1,795 actual. Kyle Hammond took both titles in C with a 2,153 handicapped and 1,505 actual. The D division handicapped went to Ryder Mattmiller with 2,050, and the actual to Allison Kash with 1,300. Joshua Spencer won the E division handicapped with 1,972, and Wesley Scherr took the actual with 1,103. The F division handicapped crown went to Sheila Houp with 2,024, and actual to Bailey Watkins 976.

Lexington 600 Club winners

The 2010 Lexington 600 Club Tournament was held Feb. 7 at Southland Lanes. The winner in the A division was Melanie Fairchild with a four-game total of 937. The B division winner was Linda Porter with a 735, and the C division went to Lori Fair-child with a 676.