Other Sports

Six local squads onto Super Bowl

The area high school bowling conference has finished its season and six area teams are advancing to the state tournament at Super Bowl in Erlanger on March 13.

The division winners in the Horse Capital Conference were the Bryan Station and Lafayette girls. The boys division winners were Henry Clay, Lafayette, Paul Dunbar and Bryan Station.

Bryan Station's girls defeated Lafayette to capture the conference title for the third straight year. Both teams advanced to the region tournament along with Lexington Catholic and West Jessamine.

The Lafayette boys won their second straight conference title, defeating Paul Dunbar in the finals. Bryan Station, Henry Clay and East and West Jessamine also advanced the region tournament.

The region tournament was held last Feb. 28 at Eastland and Lafayette and Scott County won the boys and girls titles, respectively. Also qualifying for the state tournament were Lexington Catholic and West Jessamine's girls and Paul Dunbar, Bryan Station and West Jessamine's boys.

The Horse Capital Conference named all-conference teams with each bowler receiving a $100 scholarship.

The girls' team members were Andrea Washington, Bryan Station; Stephanie Alley, West Jessamine; Kate Skidmore Bluegrass United; Danielle Smith, West Jessamine; Embry Jacobs, Henry Clay; Victoria Barr, Lexington Catholic; Jenney Tillery, East Jessamine; Vanessa Reffitt, Lafayette; Courtney Burton, West Jessamine; and Maggie Horton, Bryan Station.

The boys' team consisted of Chris Moberly, West Jessamine; Ben Pallardy, Lexington Catholic; Parth Parekh, Paul Dunbar; Robert Cartwright, West Jessamine; Dylan Boggs, West Jessamine; Hayes Barton, Paul Dunbar; Corey Gillespie, Lafayette; John Ringe, Lafayette; Kris Adams, Bluegrass United; and D.J. Lewis, West Jessamine.