Other Sports

Sports briefs: Dec. 6


Todd earns PGA Tour card with one-shot win at Q-school

Brendon Todd shot a final-round 4-under 68 on the Jack Nicklaus Stadium Course to win the PGA Tour Qualifying Tournament by one stroke on Monday in LaQuinta, Calif., earning his Tour card for 2012. Todd, who has missed the cut in 27 of his last 37 tournaments on the Nationwide Tour the last two years, had a six-day total of 17-under 415 and earned $50,000 for the win.

"I think I just really stuck to my game plan," said Todd, a former University of Georgia star. "I was hitting it well coming into the week."

Todd broke par every round and said the two windy days of the event, with winds of more than 30 mph hitting PGA West's Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament courses, helped him because he plays well in the wind.

Stephen Gangluff, another Nationwide Tour player in 2011, shot a 70 and finished second, one shot behind Todd to earn at $40,000.

The two led a group of 29 players who earned PGA Tour cards for next year. Todd played on the Tour in 2009 but struggled and lost his exemption.

Of the 27 PGA Tour cards handed out Monday — in addition to the two players who already had exemptions for next year — 12 players will be rookies on the tour next year. Also, 52 players earned full status for the 2012 Nationwide tour.

Former University of Louisville golfer Derek Fathauer missed earning his PGA card by one shot. He shot 1-over on Monday and will have full Nationwide status.

Among the notable names in the event who did not earn PGA Tour cards were David Duval, Lee Janzen, Rich Beem and Shaun Micheel. Also missing out on status on either tour were Sam Saunders, grandson of Arnold Palmer, and Travis Wadkins, son of Lanny Wadkins.

Major League Baseball

Veterans select Santo for Hall induction

Ron Santo always kept rooting for the causes dearest to him — for his Chicago Cubs to win the World Series, for doctors to find a cure for diabetes and for him to reach the Hall of Fame.

On Monday, Cooperstown finally came calling. The barrel-chested third baseman who clicked his heels in victory was elected to the Hall, overwhelmingly chosen by the Veterans Committee nearly a year to the day after he died hoping for this very honor.

"It's really exciting because so many years that we had parties over to his house in spring training saying this is the year, I'd tell him this is the year you're going in," said Hall of Fame teammate Billy Williams, a member of the voting panel.

"The one thing, of course, is, he's not here to enjoy it, but his family will. He long awaited this, and we're all happy. I know I'm happy, his family is happy, the fans of Chicago are happy," he said.

Santo was a nine-time All-Star, hit 342 home runs and won five Gold Gloves. He was a Cubs broadcaster for two decades, beloved by the home crowd for the way he eagerly cheered for his favorite team on the air, hollering "Yes! Yes!" or "All right!" after good plays and groaning "Oh, no!" or "It's bad" when things went wrong.

Shortly after the announcement, Santo's flag — white with blue pinstripes, plus his name and No. 10 — was flying from the center pole atop the scoreboard at Wrigley Field.

"There was always kind of a missing piece of the puzzle of Cubs history," team owner Tom Ricketts said.

Santo breezed in with 15 votes from the 16-member panel that met at baseball's winter meetings. It took 75 percent — 12 votes — to get chosen.

Santo died Dec. 3, 2010, from complications of bladder cancer at age 70. He had diabetes, which eventually cost him both legs below the knees, and worked tirelessly to raise millions for research into the disease. He will be inducted into Cooperstown on July 22, along with any players elected by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Jan. 9.

Jim Kaat was second with 10 votes, Gil Hodges and Minnie Minoso each drew nine, and Tony Oliva got eight on the 10-person Golden Era ballot. Santo never came close to election during his 15 times on the BBWAA ballot, peaking at 43 percent — far short of the needed 75 percent in his last year of eligibility in 1998.

Horse racing

Derby-winning jockey Chavez sidelined

Jockey Jorge Chavez, dumped from his mount during a recent race at Aqueduct in New York, will be sidelined about five months with a fractured left clavicle. The rider also suffered five broken ribs and two vertebrae fractures, according the New York Racing Association's jockey advocate. Silver Mast, Chavez's mount, fell turning for home during a race on Sunday. She rolled over Chavez before regaining her footing and appeared uninjured.

Chavez, 50, was the leading rider in New York from 1994-99. He won the 1999 Eclipse Award as the nation's top rider and captured the 2001 Kentucky Derby aboard Monarchos.


Sports Illustrated's top sportsmen: Vols' Summitt, Duke's Krzyzewski

Pat Summitt and Mike Krzyzewski were selected as Sports Illustrated's sportswoman and sportsman of the year Monday. The two Hall of Famers are the winningest coaches in women's and men's college basketball. Tennessee's Summitt announced in August she had been diagnosed with early-onset dementia, a type of Alzheimer's. She pledged to keep coaching and show others they can live their lives with the disease. She earned her 1,075th career victory Sunday. Duke's Krzyzewski passed mentor Bob Knight on Nov. 15, when he won his 903rd game.

Trinity's Beatty coach of the year finalist

Trinity High School football coach Bob Beatty is one of five finalists for the Russell Athletic National Coach of the Year award, the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Selection Committee announced Monday. Damon Cogdell (Miramar H.S., Miramar, Fla.), Bob Milloy (Our Lady of Good Counsel H.S., Olney, Md.); Jess Simpson (Buford H.S., Buford, Ga.) and Greg Toal (Don Bosco Preparatory H.S., Ramsey, N.J.) are also being considered for the award, which will given on Jan. 6.

Minnifield wins Pop Warner award

Henry Clay graduate Chase Minnifield, a star senior cornerback at Virginia, won the Pop Warner National College Football Award Monday. The award recognizes a Pop Warner alumnus who has made a difference on the field, in the classroom and in his community.


Pattie named crew chief for Bowyer

Michael Waltrip Racing hired Brian Pattie as crew chief for new driver Clint Bowyer. Pattie was most recently crew chief for Juan Pablo Montoya and led him to a spot in the 2009 Chase for the Sprint Cup championship. Pattie has 18 wins as a crew chief in the Nationwide Series, one in Cup. Bowyer moved to MWR after driving for Richard Childress Racing since 2004.

The last word

An excerpt from NASCAR legend and Owensboro native Darrell Waltrip's commentary for FoxSports.com about Penske Racing and driver Kurt Busch's split after six years:

"Back in the day, I could be mad at the world, my owner, my sponsor, my team, and I would take it out on (crew chief) Jeff Hammond. I would rant and rave and cuss him out like nobody's business. Very few people would really know about it. But, see, this isn't back in the day. This is today and, if you pull a stunt today like Kurt did, everyone knows about it instantly. ... I would love nothing more than for Kurt to get his head screwed on right and get his emotions under control. I want to see him make a strong comeback doing what he does best — driving a race car."