Other Sports

Jerry Carroll, Martha Layne Collins named first Jim Host Award winners

Kentucky Speedway developer Jerry Carroll and former Gov. Martha Layne Collins were named winners Tuesday of the first-ever Jim Host Awards presented by KEMI, the Bluegrass Sports Commission announced.

The two will be honored at the inaugural Bluegrass Sports Awards presented by Alltech Feb. 15 at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa.

Also during the Bluegrass Sports Awards program, the Herald-Leader's Kentucky Sportsman of the Year will be revealed, and broadcaster and Lexington native Tom Hammond will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Carroll will receive the Jim Host Sports Business Award, which goes to a Kentuckian who has excelled in the sports industry and has had a positive impact on Kentucky.

Carroll is best known as the former owner of Turfway Park who led the charge to build an auto racing track in Northern Kentucky in hopes of attracting top-level NASCAR racing.

Carroll sold his interest in the track, but his dream was realized last summer when NASCAR's Sprint Cup Series came to Sparta in the form of the Quaker State 400.

Collins will receive the Jim Host Youth Sports Award, which goes to a Kentuckian who has achieved success in youth and/or high school sports and had a positive impact on his or her community.

In 1985, Collins created the Bluegrass State Games, which are entering their 28th year. Collins is now the International Trade Consultant for the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.

Bluegrass Sports Awards proceeds will benefit the Bluegrass Sports Commission and its promotion of sports tourism in Central Kentucky. Call (859) 255-0336 or visit Bluegrasssports.org to buy tickets.