Other Sports

Sportsman of the Year is one of several awards delivered at Bluegrass Sports Awards

The Herald-Leader's 2012 Kentucky Sportsman of the Year will be named during the second annual Bluegrass Sports Awards banquet Thursday night.

The Sportsman of the Year award, given annually since 1981, is voted on by sports media statewide. The 2011 winner was ex-Morehead State basketball star Kenneth Faried.

Finalists for this year's award, in alphabetical order, are Teddy Bridgewater, John Calipari, Randall Cobb, Anthony Davis, Dermontti Dawson, Tom Jurich, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, A'dia Mathies, Darius Miller and Charlie Strong.

The Bluegrass Sports Commission announced last month the winners of four other awards highlighting the achievements of sports figures who have made a difference in the lives of Kentuckians. Those awards also will be handed out during Thursday's banquet presented by Alltech at the Marriott Griffin Gate Resort and Spa in Lexington.

Lexington native and NBC broadcaster Tom Hammond will present a pair of awards bearing his name.

The Tom Hammond Award will go to longtime TV and radio broadcaster Dick Enberg, while the Tom Hammond Kentucky Sports Media Award will be presented to Larry Vaught of the Danville Advocate-Messenger.

Recent National College Basketball Hall of Fame inductee Jim Host also will present a pair of awards in his name.

Ted Bassett, former president and chairman of the board of Keeneland, will receive the Jim Host Business Award. The Jim Host Youth Sports Award will honor the late Louis Stout, the former commissioner of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association.

Proceeds from the evening will benefit the Bluegrass Sports Commission and its efforts to expand the economic impact sports tourism has on Central Kentucky.

For more information or to purchase tickets, please call (859) 255-0336.


Previous winners of the Herald-Leader's Kentucky Sportsman of the Year award:

Year Winner

2011 Kenneth Faried

2010 John Wall

2009 John Calipari

2008 Kenny Perry

2007 Tyson Gay

2006 Brandon Webb

2005 Shaun Alexander

2004 Stefan LeFors

2003 Kenny Perry

2002 Valley Sports

2001 Eddie Eviston

2000 John L. Smith

1999 James Whalen Jr.

1998 Tubby Smith

1997 Tim Couch

1996 Rick Pitino

1995 Tim Couch

1994 Jenny Hansen

1993 Jamal Mashburn

1992 The Unforgettables

1991 Cawood Ledford

1990 Rick Pitino

1989 David Roselle

1988 Richie Farmer

1987 Phil Simms

1986 Denny Crum

1985 Kenny Walker

1984 Mary T. Meagher

1983 Jerry Claiborne

1982 Roy Kidd

1981 Roy Kidd


Bluegrass Sports Awards

When: 7 p.m.

Online: View live coverage of the banquet by iHigh.com on Kentucky.com and vote in our KentuckySports.com Facebook poll for who you think should be named Kentucky Sportsman of the Year.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader