Other Sports

48 perfect games tops last year's total

Mike Hilvers and Jim Cantrell both rolled a perfect game recently to bring the season total to 48. That tops the 46 bowled last season.

Hilvers rolled his in the Strike Force League at Collins Bowling Centers-Southland on March 28. The 300 paced a 730 series.

Hilvers rolled his 300 on the 65th anniversary of the first 298 game in Lexington. Olin Jones rolled a 298 at Congress Lanes on March 28, 1948. The Congress Lanes were on Main Street above Barney Miller's.

Cantrell also rolled his score at Southland in the James R. Wafford Memorial League on April 1. The score paced a 709 series.

Local bowlers have also rolled 28 series of 800 or better. The highest scoring leagues have been the Friday Night Fun League at Eastland and the James R. Wafford Memorial League at Southland.

Hall of Fame member dies

The local bowling community lost a member of its Hall of Fame. Mary Burry, who was inducted in 1988, died on March 28. She served as president of the Lexington Women's Bowling Association from 1974-89. She was the first person honored with the old LWBA's highest award, the Woman Bowler of the Year, in 1987.


Bill Pianovski 759

Tony Tretheway 744

Matt Cracraft 740

Allen Sparks 739

Mark Fagan 735

Mike Hilvers 730

Jimmy Porter 730

Bryan Gaines 724

Jim Cantrell 709

Kyle Fight 708

Derrick Gilbert 707

Erik Thingstad 706

Nick Parke 702


Jim Cantrell 300

Mike Hilvers 300

Randy Harman 279

Bryan Gaines 278

Corey Gillespie 278

Matt Cracraft 278

Tom Roth 278

Brian Noe 278

Derrick Gilbert 269

David Kendrick 269

Jimmy Porter 269

Jordan Ross 269

Mark Fagan 268

Kenny Hohensee 268

Bill Pianovski 268

Andrew Magedanz 267

Mike Vaughn 267

Tony Tretheway 267

Lee Stritesky 267

Mike South 265

Josh Mitchell 264

Nick Raggard 263

Allen Sparks 259

Erik Thingstad 258

Jody Wafford 258

Kyle Fight 257

Nick Parke 256

Steve Delles 254

Andarrius Haney 252

Steve Poor 250


Teri Tucker 709

Stacey Stephens 628

Brittani Scruggs-Barber 614


Teri Tucker 268

B. Scruggs-Baber 256

Stacey Stephens 232