Other Sports

Lexington leagues finalize merger

The Greater Lexington USBC completed its merger of the Lexington Area Bowling Association and the Lexington Women's Bowling Association at its annual meeting May 18 at the Ramada Inn on North Broadway.

A merged board of directors was elected.

Helen Gilkerson, who served as the last president of the LWBA and the president of the interim Greater Lexington USBC, was elected president.

Danette Land and Joann Campbell were named first and second vice president, respectively, and Jane Johnson will be sergeant at arms.

Jean Almaria, Brenda Cummins, Pam Grimes, Linda Porter, Pete Atkinson, David McClements, David McIntosh and Doug Bradley were elected to two-year terms as directors. Bill Hohensee, Scott Vogt, Louise Black, Celia Cooper, Melinda Craig, Joann Herndon,Tara Short and Barbara Underwood will serve one-year terms.

Harold Shields will continue to serve as the association manager. Shields stepped in for the late Julie Whitaker earlier this year.

Craig makes it 17-for-18

Melinda Craig earned the women's high average award for the 17th time in 18 years with a 225 in the 600 Club League at Collins Bowling Centers-Eastland.

Craig has the high women's average every season since 1995-96 with the exception of the 2007-08 season.

The men's high average went to Bill Pianovski, who had a 233 in the Friday Night Fun League also at Eastland.

Pianovski edged Greater Lexington USBC Hall of Famer Kenny Stephens, who averaged 232. That ended Stephens' four-year run.

The women's senior high average was 178 by Joann Herndon, and the male senior high average was 207 by Steve Delles.

The top youth averages were held by Crystal Land for the girls (208) and Zach Schnieder for the boys (224).

The best series by a woman was rolled by Melinda Craig (805) Brian Williams led the men with an 857.

Ellis earns USBC award

The Greater Lexington USBC gave its Woman Bowler of the Year award to Charlotte Ellis. Ellis was fourth in the all events in the Greater Lexington USBC Women's tournament and second in singles.

She won the doubles title with Sonya Crouch.

The Mabel Perkins Sportsmanship Award went to Linda Porter.

The organization created an award for outstanding service to the sport and named it after the late Julie Whitaker. The inaugural winner was Greater Lexington USBC President Helen Gilkerson, who was recognized for her 40-plus years of service and for her leadership in the merger of the two associations.