Other Sports

Bluegrass Sports Awards winners announced

Herald-Leader Staff Report

Former Herald-Leader sports writer Mike Fields was among seven individuals named Tuesday as winners of the fifth annual Bluegrass Sports Awards.

Fields, who retired last spring after 35 years at the newspaper covering high school sports, is joined by Larry Conley, Mike Battaglia, Donna Brothers, Kenny Rice, Van Florence and Bill Farish.

The awards will be presented by Alltech at the Bluegrass Sports Awards banquet on Jan. 26 in Lexington. The same night, the Herald-Leader will present its annual Kentucky Sportsman of the Year Award

“This year we’re honoring seven difference makers who have contributed in major ways to our state,” said Bluegrass Sports Commission President and CEO Brian Miler.

Fields will receive the Jim Host Youth Sports Award.

Conley, a former Rupp Runt and longtime college basketball broadcaster, won the Tom Hammond Sports Media Award, which goes annually to a national media member.

The Tom Hammond Kentucky Sports Media Award goes to a trio of recipients, all in the world of horse racing broadcasting: Mike Battaglia, Donna Brothers and Kenny Rice.

Bill Farish of Lane’s End Farm, who serves as chairman of the Breeders’ Cup, will receive the Jim Host Sports Business Award.

The 2016 recipient of the Bobby Flynn Volunteer of the Year Award is Van Florence who served as president of UK’s 101 Club for more than 30 years.

The banquet will include a reception with award winners and keynote speakers, a sit-down dinner and awards program. Proceeds will benefit the BSC and its efforts to grow the economic impact sports tourism has on Central Kentucky. Tables of 10 are available for $1,250. Individual tickets are available for $150.