Sidelines with John Clay

Updated Triple Crown trainer standings heading into the Belmont Stakes

If Justify wins the Belmont Stakes on Saturday, Bob Baffert not only joins James "Sunny Fitz" Fitzsimmons as the only trainer to have two Triple Crown champions, he passes D. Wayne Lukas for most Triple Crown victories.

Justify's win in the Preakness gave Baffert his seventh victory in the second jewel of the Triple Crown and his 14th win overall. That tied his with Lukas, who nearly extended his lead only to have Bravazo lose by just a half-length three weeks ago at Pimlico.

Baffert has won the Belmont twice. After falling short in the Kentucky Derby, Point Given won both the Preakness and Belmont in 2001. Then, of course, American Pharoah became the sport's 13th Triple Crown winner by taking the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont in 2015.

Omaha in 1930 and Gallant Fox in 1935 both swept the Triple Crown for Fitzsimmons.

Here is the trainer standings for Triple Crown victories.

TrainerKy DerbyPreaknessBelmontTotal
D. Wayne Lukas46414
Bob Baffert57214
Jim Fitzsimmons34613
James G. Rowe21811
R. Wyndham Walden07411
Ben A. Jones6219
Woody Stephens2158
H.A. Jones2417
Laz Barrera2136
Lucien Laurin2136
Max Hirsch0246
Thomas J. Healey0516
Herbert Thompson4116
Todd Pletcher2035
Nick Zito2125
Sam Hildreth0055
Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader