Business Awards

The Kentucky Society of Architects, a chapter of The American Institute of Architects, has presented the following awards to its members. A merit award for excellence in architectural design for the Student Union, Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights, was presented to Omni Architects, Lexington; EOP Architects has received the distinguished firm award; and Thomas E. Lett III, of Thomas E. Lett, PSC, has received the distinguished service award.

The Kentucky Tourism Council has named Alltech the 2009 winner of the Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Award. The award is presented to a person or corporation that has made a major contribution to promoting tourism in Kentucky. The Kentucky Unbridled Spirit Award has been presented since 1994 and was formerly known as the Kentucky Corporate Partner in Tourism Award.

Connie Callahan, chair of the Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology at Eastern Kentucky University, has been named Counselor of the Year by the Kentucky Counseling Association. Callahan was honored for her service as editor of the KCA Journal and for her work in helping schools develop safety plans.

Central Baptist Hospital has received three recognitions: The National Research Corporation's 2009 Consumer Choice Award; The American College of Cardiology Foundation's NCDR ACTION Registry — GWTG Gold Performance Achievement Award for 2009 (one of only 121 hospitals in the U.S to receive this award); and inclusion in Modern Healthcare magazine's Top 100 Best Places to Work in Healthcare.

COIT Kentuckiana has been recognized by Louisville's Business First magazine as one of the 50 fastest growing companies. Earlier this year, the COIT Kentuckiana franchise was named franchise of the year at the annual COIT national convention. COIT Kentuckiana is a 55-year-old franchise with offices in Lexington and Louisville.

Linda Fossen, associate vice president/dean of enrollment for Eastern Kentucky University, has been given the Director's Award from the Consortium for Student Retention Data Exchange at the University of Oklahoma. The CSRDE presented the award to an author whose paper best addresses an issue of current interest and need in the field of student retention and success. Fossen, along with two other authors, submitted the paper, "Dual Enrollment: On Ramp to College Success."

Henkel Denmark has been recognized by PLANET, an industry periodical, for its excellence in environmental improvement with the following awards: Environmental Improvement Grand Award, Wilhite residence; Environmental Improvement Distinction Award, Fasig Tipton; Overall Safety Achievement Award, Gold Performance Level.

Freida Herald, lead cancer registrar at Central Baptist Hospital, has been awarded the Kentucky Cancer Registry's Judith Ann Cook Award for Excellence in Cancer Registration. Herald, who has worked in the cancer registry field for 13 years, was cited for serving as a role model for cancer registrars throughout the state and for her willingness to work with the Kentucky Cancer Registry on pilot projects.

Aimee Hiller, vice president of administration for the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce, has been recognized by the American Chamber of Commerce Executives as one of the "40 Under 40: Rising Stars of the Chamber World."

The Kentucky Distiller's Association has won five first-place awards and one honorable mention from the Kentucky Tourism Council. The Traverse Awards recognize excellence in tourism marketing. The KDA, organized in 1880, represents the state's distillers that produce 95 percent of the world's bourbon.

Lexington Convention and Visitors Bureau has received six Traverse Awards from the Kentucky Tourism Council. The Lexington CVB received three first-place and two second-place awards and one honorable mention. The Lexington CVB partnered with several design professionals on the award-winning projects, including its agency of record, Preston-Osborne.

Jerry Rickett, a member and former chairman of the executive committee of The Center for Rural Development's board of directors, and Marvin E. "Gene" Strong, former secretary of the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development, have been inducted into the Kentucky Economic Development Hall of Fame. Rickett is the president and CEO of Kentucky Highlands Investment Corp.

Two Central Baptist Hospital employees have been selected as recipients of the 2009 awards from the Saha Foundation for Cardiovascular Research and Education. Scott County resident Deborah Gill, a telemetry nurse at CBH, and Elizabeth Hood, a Corbin resident and nursing assistant in the float pool at CBH, were selected to receive part of the endowment established by cardiothoracic surgeon Dr. Sibu Saha and Mr. and Mrs. Bob Allen to further heart-healthy education and research.

Dee Dee Harbut has been named the 2009 Sutton Landry State Star of the Kentucky SBDC. Harbut is the director of special programs at the KSBDC's administrative offices located at the University of Kentucky.

Compiled by Dorothea Wingo