Fayette County

All 12 Lexington council district incumbents file to run for re-election; filing deadline is Jan. 26

Kathy Plomin is running for the 12th District seat against incumbent Russ Hensley.
Kathy Plomin is running for the 12th District seat against incumbent Russ Hensley. File Photo

Twelve incumbents have filed to run for the Lexington Urban County Council in the fall, but only one has a challenger.

That could change in the next eight days because the filing deadline is Jan. 26.

All 12 district seats are up for election in 2016. Vice Mayor Steve Kay and at-large Councilmen Kevin Stinnett and Richard Moloney, who were elected in 2014, are serving four-year terms. The district seats are up for election every two years.

The 12th District — which includes much of rural Fayette County outside of the urban service boundary — currently is the only one where more than one person has filed to run, according to election records with the Fayette County clerk’s office.

Councilman Russ Hensley, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Ed Lane, who died in August, will face Kathy Plomin, a former president of United Way of the Bluegrass and former executive at WKYT-TV. Plomin expressed interest in the appointment last year, but Mayor Jim Gray chose Hensley.

Hensley, CEO of information technology busineses Shatterbox and Hensley-Elam, said he would like to continue the work he has started. Hensley said his background also mirrored the district he represents.

“I feel like the rural area needs good balanced representation,” Hensley said. “I grew up in a rural area — London — surrounded by agriculture and the agricultural community. But I also have a business background, and there are a lot of people with business interests in the rural area.”

Plomin said she already has extensive knowledge of the community through her job with United Way, where she worked for nearly a decade, and her subsequent work with other nonprofits. This is not her first foray into local politics. Plomin came in fourth place in the 2010 at-large council race.

“This seems like a natural progression,” Plomin said. “I have been very involved in the community for the past 30 years.”

Plomin, who has lived in the district for 28 years, said the city would revisit its comprehensive plan in 2017. Traditionally, comprehensive plans look at whether to expand the urban service area, a divisive issue in Fayette County for more than 20 years.

“It’s a very important issue for the 12th District,” she said.

Lexington Urban County council races are nonpartisian. A primary election is held if three or more candidates file to run for a seat. The primary is set for May 17.

Beth Musgrave: 859-231-3205, @HLCityhall

Urban County Council candidates

As of Friday, all 12 incumbents have filed for re-election. Only one has a challenger. The filing deadline is Jan. 26.

District 1: James Brown

District 2: Shevawn Akers

District 3: Jake Gibbs

District 4: Susan Lamb

District 5: Bill Farmer Jr.

District 6: Angela Evans

District 7: Jennifer Scutchfield

District 8: Fred V. Brown

District 9: Jennifer Mossotti

District 10: Amanda Mays Bledsoe

District 11: Peggy Henson

District 12: Russ Hensley, Kathy Plomin*


Source: Fayette County Clerk’s Office