Young leaders honored in 2017 Youth Salute

Zsombor Gal
Zsombor Gal Holifield Photography

A Paul Laurence Dunbar High School junior, Zsombor Gal, and a Boyle County High School junior, Delaney Simpson, have been named Youth Leaders of the Year during awards ceremonies held May 21 at Transylvania University.

Gal, son of Jozsef Gal and Emese Galne Farkas, was named Lexington’s 2017 Youth Leader of the Year. He received a $500 scholarship plus an all-expense paid trip, provided by Holifield Photography, to the National Council on Youth Leadership Conference at Washington University in St. Louis.

Gal has served on the Superintendent’s Advisory Council; secretary of the executive committee of the Kentucky Palentological Society; junior varsity administrative captain of the Academic Team and president of the Kentucky Junior Historical Society. He has served as president of the Spanish Honor Society; president of the Science Honor Society; treasurer of the Dunbar Cultural Society and a member of the Mayor’s Youth Council.

Delaney Simpson, daughter of Steve and Gina Simpson, was named 2017 Central Kentucky Youth Leader of the Year. She received a $500 scholarship plus an all-expense paid trip, provided by Holifield Photography, to the Youth Leadership conference.

Simpson has served as co-chair of the 4-H State Teen Council Electronics Committee; 4-H Art on Issues Teen Board; reporter for 4-H Boyle County Teen Club and chair of the 4-H District 4 Community Service Committee. She has served as a Change of Heart leader; 4-H Camp junior counselor; 4-H Sole Hope coordinator; 4-H Warm Fuzzies coordinator and Teens vs. Food leader.

Four additional students were also winners of the all-expense paid trip to the Youth Leadership Conference: Francisco Rios, Lexington Catholic; Logan Bechanan, Nicholas County; Anne Boggess, Henry Clay; and Morgan Rehm, Scott County. In addition, each student received a $125 scholarship provided by Central Bank and Trust Co. They will join other Youth Salute leaders from across the nation at the four-day event on Oct. 21-24 and will compete for national awards.

Individual school winners, from among 843 high school juniors, from 54 Central Kentucky high schools were recognized at the 37th annual Youth Salute awards ceremony.

The top 42 school winners are: Anderson County, Anna Leigh Boyles; Bath County, Mary Roe; Berea Community; Alex Ryan Mondine; Bourbon County, Nelson Paul; Boyle County, Delaney Simpson; Bryan Station, Drake Witt; Burgin Independent, Casey Durham; Carter G. Woodson Academy, Cameron Compton; Casey County, Presley Woodrum; Christian Academy of Lawrenceburg, Chanda Nicole Burton; Danville, Kassidy Marie Lanigan; Danville Christian Academy, Jackson Brockman; Estill County, Katrina Flynn; Fleming County, Katlyn Jett; Garrard County, Kennedy Morgan; George Rogers Clark, Sara Walters; Harrison County, Hannah Duncan; Henry Clay, Anne Boggess; Home Schools, Anna Grace Ehr; Lafayette, Jordan Vescio; Lewis County, Baesha Johnson; Lexington Catholic, Francisco J. Rios; Lexington Christian Academy, Laura Beth Crouch; Madison Central, Kate Nash; Madison Southern, Carter Smith; Menifee County, William Clemons; Mercer County, Lily Kathryn Rogers; Model Lab, Joshua Collier; Montgomery County, Joshua Elijah Jackson Campbell; Nicholas County, Logan B. Bechanan; Owen County, Cleveland Grant Cobb; Paul Laurence Dunbar, Zsombor Gal; Sayre, Kate Christensen; Scott County, Morgan Rehm; Shelby County, Baylee Madison Dean; Somerset, Jade Sneed; Southwestern, Hannah E. Mills; STEAM Academy, Claire Page; Tates Creek, Rosaline K. Lobbo; West Jessamine, Echo Thorpe; Western Hills, Madison Sharp; and Woodford County, Sophie Edelen.

Asbury University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each: Alex Modine, Berea Community; Rachel Rath, Burgin Independent; Dillyn Twisdale; Garrard County; Wyatt Southall, Lexington Christian Academy; and Sydney Carter, Paul Laurence Dunbar.

Eastern Kentucky University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each: Cory Vaughn, Anderson County; Elizabeth Courtney, Bourbon County; Tevin Leigh, Boyle County; Katrina Flynn, Estill County and Baesha Johnson, Lewis County.

Georgetown College also awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each: Channing Baker, Boyle County; Hailey Brogle, Boyle County; Lily Rogers, Mercer County; Tejaswini Sudhakar, Paul Laurence Dunbar and Morgan Rehm, Scott County.

Transylvania University awarded $20,000 in scholarships. Five students received $4,000 each: Lydia Fuqua, Anderson County; Avery Carrico, Lexington Catholic; Joshua Collier, Model Lab; RoyseAnn Day, Tates Creek and Amanda Cooper, Woodford County.

Five ACT/SAT Preparation Courses, valued at $500 each and provided by Central Kentucky Class 101, were awarded to Mackenzie Green, Montgomery County; Rosaline Lobbo, Tates Creek; Sara Walters, George Rogers Clark; Kathryn Nash, Madison Central and Alex Mondine, Berea Community.

The Youth Salute is conducted annually through the National Council on Youth Leadership in cooperation with the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership.

“Students must be nominated by their high school counselors, teachers, principals and other community leaders to participate in Youth Salute,” said Jim Holifield, chairman of the Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership. “All nominees must be high school juniors at the time they are nominated, have at least a 3.0 grade point average and have been chosen by their peers or an adult leader for at least two leadership roles in school, religious or community sponsored organizations during the past two years.”