Student wins the Paul Kevin Burberry Award

Awards & Honors

▪ The University of Kentucky Human Development Institute recently named Lisa Dunkley as the winner of the 2017 Paul Kevin Burberry Award.

Dunkley recently completed the Graduate Certificate in Developmental Disabilities program at the institute and is a doctoral student in rehabilitation counseling at UK. She has a research assistantship at the institute and has demonstrated a commitment to people with disabilities through a leadership project called Project Teach One Reach All, with the aim to promote disability awareness and inclusion of students living in residence halls on the UK campus.

Dunkley also served as the institute’s trainee liaison sharing Association of University Centers on Disabilities network information with students. In addition, she was awarded the 2016 AUCD Conference Trainee Scholarship, enabling her to present a collaborative poster, “Living Learning Communities: Socialization or Isolation for Students with Disabilities,” based on her leadership project at the conference.

In spring 2017, Dunkley and preservice training coordinator Walt Bower collaborated on marketing a symposium titled, “Serving Those Who Served Us: Understanding Military Culture and Disability Awareness in College.”

The Paul Kevin Burberry Award, the highest student honor awarded annually by the institute, is given to a student who has exemplified leadership, advocacy and commitment to those with disabilities and their families.

▪ A trio of students from Paul Laurence Dunbar High School brought home top honors from the Future Business Leaders of America’s national conference, June 29 through July 2 in Anaheim, Calif.

Kevin Jing, Rehan Ghanta and Sai Naidu placed first in the sports and entertainment management category, which they also won at the state level this spring.

In other big finishes, Sahar Mohammadzadeh placed fifth nationally in public speaking II, and Kelly Chen was seventh in business law.

The business group develops leadership, communication and team skills, and enables students to network at the local, state and national level. The Dunbar club’s adviser is business teacher Robin Johnson.


The 2017 Governor’s School for the Arts, an intensive summer residency program for rising juniors and seniors, accepted 40 students from Fayette County Public Schools, who spent June 18 to July 8 at Centre College in Danville. During their three-week session, the teenagers were immersed in seminars, master classes, lectures, hands-on workshops and field trips.

From Bryan Station High School: Erin Zearfoss, architecture and design; Jordan Bryson, creative writing; Sidney Bibbs, instrumental music, viola; Simone Bibbs, instrumental music, cello; Anna-Claire Wright, instrumental music, violin; and Jada Commodore, visual art.

Henry Clay High School: Lucy Ferguson, dance; Cooper Boss, dance; Reagan Cox, instrumental music, trumpet; Julia D’Orazio, instrumental music, flute and piccolo; and Adrian Partridge, visual art.

Lafayette High School: David Choate, creative writing; Katrin Anne Flores, creative writing; Ruby Tevis, creative writing; Olivia Connelly, dance; Walker Cody, dance; Josh Andreatta, instrumental music, acoustic guitar; Matthew DeRossett, instrumental music, trombone; Ben Henault, instrumental music, marimba and timpani; Vanessa Meliksetyan, instrumental music, piano; Matthew Mitchell, instrumental music, bassoon; Anna Watrous, instrumental music, cello; David Forish, musical theater; Alexis Zapata, musical theater; Kennedie Nelson, visual art; Williams Atkinson, vocal music, tenor; Katherine Copeland, vocal music, soprano; Rory Hefner-Templar, vocal music, alto; and Abby Holthaus, vocal music, soprano.

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School: Katrina Baniak, architecture and design; Megan Slusarewicz, creative writing; Tejaswini Sudhakar, creative writing; Kaitlin Rucker, drama; Rohan Palla, film and photography; Andy Du, instrumental music, piano; Megan Guan, instrumental music, violin; Olivia Zastro, instrumental music, clarinet; and Maxwell Qiu, visual art.

Tates Creek High School: Eliana Shapere, creative writing; and Benjamin Horman, musical theater.

From across the state, 256 students received in-depth instruction in architecture and design, creative writing, dance, drama, instrumental music, musical theater, film and photography, visual art or vocal music. The school is managed by the Kentucky Center.