Education news of interest in Lexington and Central Kentucky

Kenneth R. Troske
Kenneth R. Troske Photo provided


▪ Kenneth R. Troske, Gatton College of Business and Economics associate dean for Graduate Programs and Outreach at the University of Kentucky, has been appointed to the newly established Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking, part of the executive branch of the federal government.

Troske was appointed to the 15-member commission by U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.

The commission is charged with conducting a comprehensive study of the data inventory, data infrastructure, database security and statistical protocols related to federal policy making.

Troske, the William B. Sturgill Endowed Professor of Economics at UK since 2005, previously served as a member of the Congressional Oversight Panel, which was created in the wake of the 2008 financial crisis to evaluate the U.S. Department of the Treasury's efforts under the Troubled Asset Relief Program.

A 2014 recipient of the William T. Lyons Award for outstanding service to the university, the community and the Commonwealth, Troske is a member of the American Economic Association, the Southern Economics Association and the Society of Labor Economists.

▪ Six students scored a composite 36 on the ACT college entrance exam during the 2015-16 academic year, when they were juniors. They were Alec Dupont of Henry Clay High School; Andrew Wachal of Lafayette High School; and Carlo Labianca, Ananth Miller Murthy, Nisarg Patil and Benjamin Xie, all of Paul Laurence Dunbar High School.


▪ Eric Carter has been named dean of regional instruction and services and associate professor of sociology at Campbellsville University. Carter has served as associate professor and chair of the Department of Sociology at Georgetown College since 2007.