Politics & Government

Gov. Beshear names leaders of inaugural committee

FRANKFORT — Democratic Gov. Steve Beshear has named eight committee co-chairs to oversee Kentucky's 59th inaugural celebration on Dec. 13.

On that date, Beshear will become the second Kentucky governor to be sworn in to a second consecutive four-year term.

Beshear's inaugural committee co-chairs will be Jim and Linda Booth of Inez, Tracy and Carol Farmer of Midway, Wade and Alice Houston of Louisville and Darrell and Lorna Littrell of Henderson.

Lindy Karns, the inauguration's treasurer, filed the committee names with the Kentucky Registry of Election Finance earlier this week.

Beshear plans to raise private funds for the celebration.

"The inauguration is a celebration for all Kentuckians," Beshear said in a statement. "We look forward to a day that honors Kentucky traditions and marks our collective commitments to work together for the common good of our Kentucky families."

Lt. Gov.-elect Jerry Abramson also will be sworn in to office Dec. 13. All other elected state officers will take their oaths of office on Jan. 2.

During the inauguration, several free public events will be planned throughout the day, including the Inaugural Ball and a parade.

Details about the events will be made available in the coming days, Beshear's office said.

State offices will be closed for the inauguration.

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader