UK Men's Basketball

Meeks, Patterson on All-SEC 1st team

Kentucky's Jodie Meeks and Patrick Patterson were named Tuesday to the All-Southeastern Conference first team as voted on by the league's coaches.

Meeks, a junior guard, is the SEC's leading scorer at 24.7 points per game. He was one of five unanimous choices on the eight-player first team but was not named Player of the Year.

That honor went to LSU senior guard Marcus Thornton, who averaged 20.9 points in leading the Tigers to the SEC regular-season championship.

Patterson, a sophomore forward, is fourth in the league in scoring (18.4 ppg) and third in rebounding (9.2 rpg).

The last time Kentucky had two players on the coaches' first team was in 2004, with Erik Daniels and Gerald Fitch.

Other unanimous selections were Florida sophomore guard Nick Calathes, South Carolina junior guard Devan Downey and Tennessee junior forward Tyler Smith.

Also making the first team were LSU junior forward Tasmin Mitchell and Mississippi State junior forward/center Jarvis Varnado.

LSU's Trent Johnson was voted Coach of the Year, Mississippi's Terrico White was named Freshman of the Year, and Alabama's Justin Knox earned Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors. Varnado was Defensive Player of the Year for the second year in a row. South Carolina's Brandis Raley-Ross was voted Sixth Man of the Year.

Tennessee's Scotty Hopson, who played high school basketball in Kentucky at University Heights, was named to the All-Freshman Team.