UK Men's Basketball

Five UK basketball signees chosen for McDonald’s All-American games

De’Aaron Fox is regarded as the No. 1 point guard in high school basketball and was among the players named Sunday to the McDonald’s All-American Game. Fox has signed with Kentucky.
De’Aaron Fox is regarded as the No. 1 point guard in high school basketball and was among the players named Sunday to the McDonald’s All-American Game. Fox has signed with Kentucky. Nike

All four University of Kentucky men’s basketball signees who were nominated for the McDonald’s All-American Game have been chosen for the postseason showcase, it was announced Sunday night.

Edrice “Bam” Adebayo, De’Aaron Fox, Sacha Killeya-Jones and Malik Monk will all play in the McDonald’s game March 30 at the United Center in Chicago. Fellow UK signee Wenyen Gabriel was not eligible for the event because he is a fifth-year high school player.

Coach John Calipari now has 25 McDonald’s All-Americans since taking over UK’s program in 2009, the most of any school during that span. This will be the fourth time since 2011 that at least four future Wildcats will play in the game.

The only other schools with multiple commitments in this year’s game are Duke, Michigan State and UCLA. Each of those programs had two players named to the game.

Monk and Adebayo appeared on the nationally televised selection show Sunday night and were asked which scenario brings more pressure: the status of being a McDonald’s All-American or the expectations of playing at Kentucky.

“That’s a good question,” Monk said after a long pause. “Really, the expectations of playing at Kentucky, because they’ve had a bunch of greats come through there and they want us to do what the greats have done before.”

Uncommitted seniors Jarrett Allen and Marques Bolden were also among the 24 boys’ players picked for the McDonald’s game. Calipari said last week on his radio show that he would like to add one more post player to his No. 1-ranked recruiting class, and Allen and Bolden are seen as the most likely options.

Adebayo, Fox and Killeya-Jones will be teammates on the East team. Monk, Allen and Bolden have been assigned to the West team.

Louisville signee V.J. King was also named a McDonald’s All-American and will play for the East squad. He’ll be the first U of L signee to play in the game since 2011.

Pleasure Ridge Park Coach Dale Mabrey will be the head coach of the West team. J.O. Johnson (Ala.) Coach Jack Doss will coach the East squad. Doss is the high school coach of five-star prospect John Petty, who is one of UK’s top recruiting targets in the class of 2017.

UK women’s signee Lindsey Corsaro was selected for the McDonald’s All-American girls’ game, which will also be played March 30 at the United Center. The 6-foot guard from Indianapolis is Matthew Mitchell’s 10th McDonald’s All-American, and her selection means the UK women’s program will have a signee in the game for a seventh consecutive year.

Elizabethtown High School senior Erin Boley was also chosen for the McDonald’s girls’ game. Boley, who has signed with Notre Dame, is ranked by ESPN as the No. 5 overall prospect in the class of 2016 and will be the only Kentuckian at the event.

Louisville signees Ciera Johnson and Kylee Shook will also play in the girls’ game.

Boys’ rosters

East: Bam Adebayo (Kentucky), Udoka Azubuike (undecided), Tony Bradley (North Carolina), Miles Bridges (Michigan State), Terrance Ferguson (Alabama), De’Aaron Fox (Kentucky), Markelle Fultz (Washington), Andrew Jones (Texas), Sacha Killeya-Jones (Kentucky), V.J. King (Louisville), Kobi Simmons (Arizona), Jayson Tatum (Duke).

West: Jarrett Allen (undecided), Lonzo Ball (UCLA), Marques Bolden (undecided), Zach Collins (Gonzaga), Alterique Gilbert (UConn), Kyle Guy (Virginia), Dewan Huell (Miami), Frank Jackson (Duke), Josh Jackson (undecided), Josh Langford (Michigan State), T.J. Leaf (UCLA), Malik Monk (Kentucky).

Girls’ rosters

East: Erin Boley (Notre Dame), Kaila Charles (Maryland), Natalie Chou (Baylor), Lindsey Corsaro (Kentucky), Crystal Dangerfield (UConn), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Ciera Johnson (Louisville), Nancy Mulkey (Oklahoma), Amber Ramirez (TCU), Alecia Sutton (Texas), Blair Watson (Maryland), Aaliyah Wilson (undecided).

West: Jeannie Boehm (Harvard), DiJonai Carrington (Stanford), Chassity Carter (Vanderbilt), Lauren Cox (Baylor), Nadia Fingall (Stanford), Sabrina Ionescu (undecided), Tori McCoy (Ohio State), Leaonna Odom (Duke), Kylee Shook (Louisville), Destiny Slocum (Maryland), Anna Wilson (Stanford), Jackie Young (Notre Dame).

Ben Roberts: 859-231-3216, @NextCats

UK’s McDonald’s All-Americans during the Calipari era

  • Edrice “Bam” Adebayo (2016)
  • De’Aaron Fox (2016)
  • Sacha Killeya-Jones (2016)
  • Malik Monk (2016)
  • Isaiah Briscoe (2015)
  • Devin Booker (2014)
  • Trey Lyles (2014)
  • Karl-Anthony Towns (2014)
  • Tyler Ulis (2014)
  • Aaron Harrison (2013)
  • Andrew Harrison (2013)
  • Dakari Johnson (2013)
  • Marcus Lee (2013)
  • Julius Randle (2013)
  • James Young (2013)
  • Archie Goodwin (2012)
  • Alex Poythress (2012)
  • Anthony Davis (2011)
  • Michael Kidd-Gilchrist (2011)
  • Marquis Teague (2011)
  • Kyle Wiltjer (2011)
  • Terrence Jones (2010)
  • Brandon Knight (2010)
  • Doron Lamb (2010)
  • DeMarcus Cousins (2009)