UK Football

Three Kentucky players named to AP’s All-SEC football teams

Jon Toth was named to the All-SEC First Team by media who cover the league.
Jon Toth was named to the All-SEC First Team by media who cover the league.

University of Kentucky senior center Jon Toth, the leader of an offensive line that paved the way for two 1,000-yard rushers this season, was named to the All-Southeastern Conference First Team by The Associated Press on Thursday.

The 6-foot-5, 310-pound Toth was one of two centers named to the First Team, joining Ethan Pocic of LSU.

Two sophomores from the UK defense received Second Team recognition: linebacker Jordan Jones and safety Mike Edwards.

Toth and Jones were Second Team choices in voting by the league’s coaches announced earlier this week.

No. 1-ranked and SEC champion Alabama swept the league’s media awards.

Freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts was picked as the offensive player of the year, as well as the newcomer of the year. Jonathan Allen took the honor for the top defensive player. Nick Saban was the choice for coach of the year.

Alabama also led the way with seven First Team selections and 12 All-SEC choices overall. Five players each from LSU and Auburn made the First Team.

All-SEC Teams

Players listed by name, school, height, weight, class and hometown (u-denotes unanimous selections):



Quarterback — Jalen Hurts, Alabama, 6-2, 209, Fr., Channelview, Texas.

Running backs — Derrius Guice, LSU, 5-11, 222, So., Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Kamryn Pettway, Auburn, 6-0, 240, So., Montgomery, Alabama; Rawleigh Williams III, Arkansas, 5-10, 225, So., Dallas, Texas.

Tackles — u-Cam Robinson, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr., Monroe, Louisiana; Dan Skipper, Arkansas, 6-10, 322, Sr., Arvada, Colorado.

Guards — Braden Smith, Auburn, 6-6, 300, Jr., Olathe, Kansas; Alex Kozan, Auburn, 6-4, 310, Sr., Castle Rock, Colorado.

Centers — Ethan Pocic, LSU, 6-7, 309, Lemont, Illinois; Jon Toth, Kentucky, 6-5, 310, Sr., Indianapolis, Indiana.

Receivers — Fred Ross, Mississippi State, 6-2, 207, Sr., Tyler, Texas; Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, So., Scottsdale, Arizona.

Tight end — u-Evan Engram, Mississippi, 6-3, 227, Sr., Powder Springs, Georgia.

All-purpose player — Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, So., Scottsdale, Arizona.

Kicker — Daniel Carlson, Auburn, 6-4, 218, Jr., Colorado Springs, Colorado.


Ends — u-Jonathan Allen, Alabama, 6-3, 291, Sr., Leesburg, Virginia; u-Derek Barnett, Tennessee, 6-3, 257, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee.

Tackle — Montravius Adams, Auburn, 6-4, 309, Sr., Vienna, Georgia

Linebackers — Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt, 6-4, 238, Jr., Pinson, Alabama; Reuben Foster, Alabama, 6-1, 228, Sr., Auburn, Alabama; Ryan Anderson, Alabama, 6-2, 253, Sr., Daphne, Alabama; Arden Key, LSU, 6-6, 231, So., Atlanta, Georgia.

Cornerbacks — Teez Tabor, Florida, 6-0, 201, Jr., Washington, D.C.; Tre'Davious White, LSU, 5-11, 191, Sr., Shreveport, Louisiana.

Safeties — Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama, 6-1, 203, So., Old Bridge, New Jersey; Jamal Adams, LSU, 6-1, 211, Jr., Lewisville, Texas.

Punter — JK Scott, Alabama, 6-6, 202, Jr., Denver, Colorado.



Quarterbacks — Josh Dobbs, Tennessee, 6-3, 207, Sr., Alpharetta, Georgia; Chad Kelly, Mississippi, 6-2, 215, Sr., Buffalo, New York.

Running backs — Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt, 5-10, 205, Jr., Gainesville, Florida; Leonard Fournette, LSU, 6-1, 230, Jr. New Orleans, Louisiana.

Tackles — Robert Leff, Auburn, 6-6, 299, Sr.; Fairhope, Alabama; Jonah Williams, Alabama, 6-5, 296, Fr., Folsom, California.

Guards — Josh Boutte, LSU, 6-5, 342, Sr., New Iberia, Louisiana; Martez Ivey, Florida, 6-5, 305, So., Apopka, Florida; Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama, 6-4, 304, So., Cedar Falls, Iowa

Center — Frank Ragnow, Arkansas, 6-5, 312, Jr., Chanhassen, Minnesota.

Receivers — ArDarius Stewart, Alabama, 6-1, 204, Jr., Fultondale, Alabama; J'Mon Moore, Missouri, 6-3, 190, Jr., Missouri City, Texas; Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M, 6-4, 190, Sr., San Antonio, Texas.

Tight end — O.J. Howard, Alabama, 6-6, 251, Sr., Prattville, Alabama.

All-purpose player — Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia, 5-8, 170, Jr., Miami, Florida.

Kicker — Gary Wunderlich, Mississippi, 6-0, 193, Jr., Memphis, Tennessee.


Ends — Myles Garrett, Texas A&M, 6-5, 262, Jr., Arlington, Texas; Charles Harris, Missouri, 6-3, 255, Jr., Kansas City, Missouri; Carl Lawson, Auburn, 6-2, 253, Jr., Alpharetta, Georgia.

Tackles — Caleb Brantley, Florida, 6-2, 297, Jr., Crescent City, Florida; Darius English, South Carolina,6-6, 245, Sr., Powder Springs, Georgia.

Linebackers — Tim Williams, Alabama, 6-4, 252, Sr., Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Jordan Jones, Kentucky, 6-2, 220, So., Youngstown, Ohio; Kendall Beckwith, LSU, 6-2, 252, Sr., Clinton, Louisiana.

Cornerbacks — Aarion Penton, Missouri, 5-10, 190, Sr., St. Louis, Missouri; Quincy Wilson, Florida, 6-1, 213, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Safeties — Marcus Maye, Florida, 6-0, 210, Sr., Melbourne, Florida; Justin Evans, Texas A&M, 6-1, 195, Sr., Wiggins, Mississippi; Mike Edwards, Kentucky, 6-0, 200, So., Cincinnati, Ohio.

Punter — Johnny Townsend, Florida, 6-1, 210, Jr., Orlando, Florida.


Coach of the year — Nick Saban, Alabama

Offensive player of the year — Jalen Hurts, Alabama

Defensive player of the year — Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Newcomer of the year — Jalen Hurts, Alabama

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader