High School Sports

Meet your 2018 Kentucky Mr. and Miss Golf winners (plus the All-State teams)

Lexington Christian Academy’s Laney Frye (left) and Trinity’s John Marshall Butler won this year’s Mr. and Miss Golf awards.
Lexington Christian Academy’s Laney Frye (left) and Trinity’s John Marshall Butler won this year’s Mr. and Miss Golf awards.

A pair of juniors — Trinity’s John Marshall Butler and Lexington Christian Academy’s Laney Frye — were are this year’s Mr. and Miss Golf winners.

Both individuals earned their distinction by virtue of leading Kentucky Golf House’s All-State points list following the Leachman Buick-GMC-Cadillac/KHSAA State Golf Championships last week. Points are accumulated through players’ top seven events during the season, the regional tournament and state tournament.

Frye finished with 860 points. She and Butler, who had 830 points after, won individual state titles this season.

Frye, whose effort also helped LCA win its first girls’ team state title, was joined by Madison Central senior MacKenzie Neal on the All-State First Team. Scott County’s Rylea Marcum, also a junior, finished runner-up on the points list with 795 points.

Paul Laurence Dunbar’s Maddie Cecil, this year’s 9th Region individual champion, made the girls’ All-State Second Team.

Scott County’s Brody Webb and LCA’s Jansen Preston finished with enough points to make the boys’ All-State First Team. Clay Pendergrass, an eighth-grader at Madison Central, made the All-State Second Team.



John Marshall Butler, Trinity (830 points)

C.M. Mixon, South Warren (770)

Luke Coyle, Taylor County (665)

Cooper Parks, Taylor County (655)

Jay Nimmo, Marshall County (645)

Collier Curd, Bowling Green (635)

Brody Webb, Scott County (610)

Campbell Kremer, St. Xavier (610)

Reese Sexton, Wayne County (585)

Jansen Preston, Lexington Christian Academy (580)


Drew Doyle, St. Xavier (575)

Alex Hadden, Henry County (565)

Rylan Wotherspoon, Cooper (550)

Tyler Mitts, Grant County (540)

Blake Evans, Morgan County (510)

Ryan Mitts, Grant County (495)

Justin Gabbard, Highlands (470)

Tyler Powell, Marshall County (470)

Owen Stamper, Allen County-Scottsville (460)

Clay Pendergrass, Madison Central (455)



Laney Frye, Lexington Christian (860 points)

Rylea Marcum, Scott County (795)

Faith Martin, South Warren (715)

Taylor Edlin, Sacred Heart (710)

Molly Bebelaar, South Oldham (700)

Olivia DiPaolo, Ryle (645)

MacKenzie Neal, Madison Central (635)

Olivia Hensley, Boyd County (570)

Kate Hanni, Ashland Blazer (550)

Grace Clark, Shelby County (520)


Mattie Neeley, Madison Central (520)

Hallie Riley, Marshall County (495)

Rylee Suttor, Collins (475)

Addie Westbrook, Taylor County (455)

Connor Geralds, Monroe County (395)

Grace Parrott, Green County (390)

Maddie Cecil, Paul Laurence Dunbar (380)

Grace Walker, Christian Academy of Louisville (345)

Macie Brown, Bullitt East (340)

Abbie Coffey, Russell County (340)

Correction: A previous version of this article used misinterpreted results of the All-State points list. This version has been updated to reflect a tiebreaker procedure that was not previously accounted for.