High School Basketball

Here’s who coaches think will play in the 2019 boys’ Sweet Sixteen

Boys’ basketball in Kentucky tips off on Nov. 26, which means we’re about four months away from crowning the next state champion.

The 102nd Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet Sixteen basketball state tournament will be held March 6-10 at Rupp Arena in Lexington. Here are the top five teams in each region, as voted on by coaches in those regions, along with their record last season.

x-Last season’s region champion

1st Region

Champ: Mayfield (26-7)

2. Marshall County (19-12)

3. Graves County (26-9)

4. x-McCracken County (28-7)

5. Paducah Tilghman (19-10)

2nd Region

Champ: x-University Heights Academy (23-8)

2. Hopkinsville (13-14)

3. Madisonville (21-10)

4. Christian County (22-8)

5. Webster County (17-11)

3rd Region

Champ: Breckinridge County (15-13)

2. Owensboro Catholic (23-10)

3. Daviess County (19-11)

4. Owensboro (19-8)

5. Muhlenberg County (12-16)

4th Region

Champ: x-Warren Central (31-6)

2. Bowling Green (23-11)

3. Glasgow (22-9)

4. Clinton County (18-13)

5. Greenwood (16-15)

5th Region

Champ: LaRue County (29-3)

2. x-John Hardin (28-8)

3. Central Hardin (19-11)

4. Bardstown (17-12)

5. Marion County (18-11)

6th Region

Champ: Butler (27-4)

2. x-Fern Creek (27-7)

t3. Jeffersontown (17-14)

t3. Pleasure Ridge Park (21-11)

5. Doss (24-7)

7th Region

Champ: x-Trinity (30-4)

2. Ballard (27-7)

3. Male (17-14)

4. Waggener (18-10)

5. St. Xavier (20-11)

8th Region

Champ: Collins (22-10)

2. Walton-Verona (26-6)

3. Simon Kenton (19-10)

4. Spencer County (20-8)

5. x-Oldham County (31-6)

9th Region

Champ: x-Covington Catholic (35-4)

2. Cooper (25-6)

3. Dixie Heights (18-15)

4. Newport (24-7)

5. Beechwood (18-13)

10th Region

Champ: Clark County (29-5)

2. x-Campbell County (29-6)

3. Scott (23-10)

4. Pendleton County (24-8)

5. Paris (23-8)

11th Region

Champ: x-Scott County (37-2)

2. Henry Clay (18-12)

3. Madison Central (25-8)

4. Lexington Catholic (18-10)

5. Lafayette (21-10)

12th Region

Champ: Wayne County (19-14)

2. Danville (15-16)

3. Lincoln County (13-18)

4. West Jessamine (18-11)

5. Mercer County (27-6)

13th Region

Champ: South Laurel (22-9)

2. Knox Central (27-6)

3. Harlan County (20-9)

4. x-Corbin (26-8)

5. Clay County (14-15)

14th Region

Champ: Knott County Central (27-7)

2. Hazard (13-14)

3. Perry County Central (20-8)

4. Breathitt County (14-19)

5. Cordia (19-12)

15th Region

Champ: Johnson Central (19-15)

2. x-Pikeville (25-10)

t3. Paintsville (20-10)

t3. Shelby Valley (22-9)

5. Floyd Central (19-12)

16th Region

Champ: Elliott County (11-14)

2. x-Boyd County (29-7)

3. Morgan County (25-6)

4. Ashland Blazer (24-6)

5. Rowan County (17-15)


Our annual survey was emailed to all 271 KHSAA boys’ basketball coaches in Kentucky, using their email registered with the KHSAA. Multiple attempts were made to encourage every school to participate. Coaches were asked to select their top five teams in their region and points were assigned based on a team’s position on the ballot (five points for No. 1, four points for No. 2, three points for No. 3, etc.), and tabulated across all ballots received; some schools participated in the survey but declined to vote due to unfamiliarity with teams outside of their own.

A total of 127 schools (46.9 percent) responded to the survey and are recognized here: Adair County, Allen County-Scottsville, Ashland Blazer, Atherton, Ballard Memorial, Bardstown, Barren County, Bath County, Beechwood, Belfry, Berea, Boyle County, Breathitt County, Breckinridge County, Brown, Buckhorn, Butler County, Campbellsville, Carlisle County, Central, Central Hardin, Christian Academy of Louisville, Christian County, Clark County, Clinton County, Collegiate, Collins, Cooper, Corbin, Covington Catholic, Covington Holy Cross, Danville, Daviess County, DeSales, Dixie Heights, Eastern, Elliott County, Estill County, Fairdale, Fleming County, Floyd Central, Franklin County, Frederick Douglass, Fulton County, Gallatin County, Garrard County, Glasgow, Graves County, Grayson County, Greenup County, Hancock County, Harlan County, Harrison County, Henderson County, Henry Clay, Hickman County, Highlands, Hopkinsville, Iroquois, John Hardin, Johnson Central, Kentucky School for the Deaf, Knox Central, Lafayette, Lawrence County, Letcher County Central, Lexington Catholic, Lexington Christian Academy, Louisville Holy Cross, Ludlow, Madison Central, Madison Southern, Madisonville, Male, Marshall County, Mason County, Mayfield, McCracken County, Mercer County, Metcalfe County, Middlesboro, Monroe County, Montgomery County, Muhlenberg County, Newport, Newport Central Catholic, North Laurel, Owen County, Owensboro Catholic, Paintsville, Paris, Pendleton County, Perry County Central, Phelps, Pineville, Portland Christian, Prestonsburg, Rowan County, Sayre, Scott, Shelby County, Shelby Valley, Sheldon Clark, Simon Kenton, Somerset, Southern, South Oldham, Spencer County, St. Mary, St. Patrick, St. Xavier, Tates Creek, Trinity, University Height Academy, Villa Madonna, Waggener, Walton-Verona, Warren Central, Warren East, Wayne County, West Jessamine, Western, Western Hills, Whitesville Trinity, Williamsburg, Wolfe County, Woodford County

Related stories from Lexington Herald Leader