College Sports

Eastern Kentucky sweeps OVC pitcher, coach of year awards

Matt Fyffe, Eastern Kentucky University pitcher
Matt Fyffe, Eastern Kentucky University pitcher

Eastern Kentucky University senior right-hander Matt Fyffe was voted the Ohio Valley Conference Pitcher of the Year, Jason Stein was voted the OVC Coach of the Year and five Colonels were named to the all-league teams on Tuesday night.

Five Morehead State players and two from Murray State also earned All-OVC recognition.

The awards were voted on by league's head coaches and sports information directors and announced on the eve of the OVC Tournament in Jackson, Tenn.

Eastern Kentucky (31-21) is the tournament's No. 2 seed and opens play Thursday.

Fyffe, a right-hander from Paintsville, was one of EKU's three first-team selections. He finished the regular season 9-0 with a 1.51 ERA in 652⁄3 innings. He limited opposing hitters to a .209 batting average. His nine wins led the OVC and his 1.51 ERA led the league and ranked seventh in the country. Fyffe's performance helped EKU earn a share of its first OVC regular-season title since 2000.

Fyffe is the first Colonel to be named OVC Pitcher of the Year since Christian Friedrich in 2008.

Stein, in his fourth year as the head coach at his alma mater, led EKU to seven straight conference wins down the stretch to capture a share of the OVC regular season championship, the program's league-record 16th title. The Colonels were picked to finish sixth in the OVC pre-season poll.

The Colonels led the nation in home runs per game (1.25) this season and led the OVC in slugging percentage (.482), doubles (12), triples (21), home runs (65) and total bases (902).

Stein is EKU's first Coach of the Year since Jim Ward in 2000.

EKU teammates joining Fyffe on the OVC first team were senior outfielder Jacob Daniel and senior shortstop Richie Rodriguez.

Senior second baseman Dustin Dunlop and junior left-hander Shane Grimm made the second team.

Morehead State's senior catcher Eric Bainer, sophomore utility player Nick Duff and junior right-hander Matt Duncan were named to the second team. Right-hander Aaron Goe and outfielder Duran Elmore made the All-Freshman Team.

For Murray State, senior utility player Travis Isaak made the first team and sophomore designated hitter Brandon Eggenschwiler made the second team.

All-OVC awards and teams


Player of the Year: Trenton Moses, SE Missouri

Pitcher of the Year: Matt Fyffe, Eastern Kentucky

Rookie of the Year: Brant Valach, Eastern Illinois

Coach of the Year: Jason Stein, Eastern Kentucky

First Team

C — Ben Burgess, Tennessee Tech

1B — Ben Waldrip, Jacksonville State

2B — Jordan Hankins, Austin Peay

SS — Richie Rodriguez, Eastern Kentucky

3B — Trenton Moses, SE Missouri

OF — Jacob Daniel, Eastern Kentucky

OF — Kyle Bluestein, Jacksonville State

OF — Derek Gibson, SE Missouri

DH — Ben Thoma, Eastern Illinois

UT — Travis Isaak, Murray State

SP — Zach Toney, Austin Peay

SP — Mike Hoekstra, Eastern Illinois

SP — Matt Fyffe, Eastern Kentucky

RP — Dustin Quattrocchi, SIU-Edwardsville

Second Team

C — Eric Bainer, Morehead State

1B — T.J. McManus, Eastern Illinois

1B — Zach Stephens, Tennessee Tech

2B — Dustin Dunlop, Eastern Kentucky

SS — Kenton Parmley, SE Missouri

3B — Greg Bachman, Austin Peay

OF — Cody Hudson, Austin Peay

OF — Michael Blanchard, Austin Peay

OF — Jordan Owen, UT Martin

DH — Brandon Eggenschwiler, Murray State

UT — Nick Duff, Morehead State

SP — Shane Grimm, Eastern Kentucky

SP — Shae Simmons, SE Missouri

SP — Travis Felax, SIU-Edwardsville

RP — Todd Hornsby, Jacksonville State

RP — Matt Duncan, Morehead State

All-Freshman Team

Caleb Howell (OF), Eastern Illinois

Brant Valach (3B), Eastern Illinois

Travis Stout (RHP), Jacksonville State

Aaron Goe (RHP), Morehead State

Duran Elmore (OF), Morehead State

Andy Lennington (1B/2B/OF), SE Missouri

Jason Blum (OF), SE Missouri

Ryan Barnes (DH), SE Missouri

Dylan Bosheers (2B), Tennessee Tech

Seth Lucio (RHP), Tennessee Tech

David Hess (RHP), Tennessee Tech

Sonny Mastromatteo (2B), UT Martin

Nico Zych (SS/3B), UT Martin