High School Basketball

Kentucky seniors go from the same little league to the same big award stage

Trevon Faulkner and Seygan Robins played grade-school basketball in Mercer County — in the same league.

They stopped sharing the same court at Mercer County, but they continued to walk the same halls. And on Tuesday they shared the same stage as their names were called as winners of the Mr. Basketball and Miss Basketball awards during the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation’s Mr. and Miss Basketball ceremony at the Lexington Center.

It was the first time that both winners came from the same school. It was the first time that Mr. and Miss Basketball winners both came out of the same region since 2005, when Jeffersontown’s Domonic Tilford and Sacred Heart’s Carly Ormerod won out of the 7th Region (Jeffersontown now plays in the 6th Region). That was the third time that’s happened; Apollo’s Rex Chapman and Owensboro Catholic’s Kris Miller swept for the 3rd Region in 1986.

Faulkner, who’s signed with Northern Kentucky University, became the first player to win Mr. Basketball out of the 12th Region. Walt Allen played in the 12th Region at South Laurel but the Cardinals’ program was in its first season as a member of the 13th Region when he won the award in 2006.

Robins, a University of Louisville signee, became the third 12th Region player to win Miss Basketball, joining Rockcastle County’s Sara Hammond (2011) and Laurel County’s Lisa Collins (1980).

“We played against each other in little league,” Faulkner said of Robins. “She actually was in the boys’ league. I knew she was gonna be good, cause she was a great player then. I knew one day when she grew up, there were going to be some amazing things for her.

Faulkner’s prediction was right on the money; Robins scored more had more than 2,500 points, 800 assists and 500 steals in her career. She was twice named Sweet Sixteen MVP after leading Mercer County to its first and second girls’ state championships in 2017 and 2018. Mercer County went 127-19 over the last four seasons and won four straight 12th Region titles. It lost in the first round of the 2015 Sweet Sixteen and in the semifinals of the 2016 state tournament before becoming the 11th program to win back-to-back titles, and only the third county school to achieve that feat.

Mercer County basketball player Trevon Faulkner was named 2018 Mr. Kentucky Basketball Tuesday by the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation during a reception at Lexington Center. Matt Goins
Mercer County basketball player Seygan Robins was named 2018 Kentucky Miss Basketball Tuesday by the Kentucky Lions Eye Foundation during a reception at Lexington Center. Matt Goins

Faulkner finished his career as one of only seven boys in KHSAA history to finish with more than 3,000 points and 1,100 rebounds (the minimum amounts to be recorded in the historical records). Mercer County went 108-25 over the last four seasons. The Titans played in three straight 12th Region championship games and reached the 2016 Sweet Sixteen, in which they lost to eventual champion Paul Laurence Dunbar in a first-round thriller.

Does Robins ever jokingly rub her rings in Faulkner’s face?

“Nah, she hasn’t,” Faulkner said. “She knows who’ll beat her in one-on-one.”

Robins didn’t help her cause.

“Oh yea, he definitely would,” Robins said with a laugh.

Josh Hamlin was an assistant on the girls’ coaching staff before taking the reins of the boys’ program season.

“To be able to coach both of them and both of them win Mr. and Miss Basketball, it’s just something that’s extremely special,” Hamlin said. “ ... You just can’t speak enough adjectives, or words, or whatever you want to say about those two kids.”

Robins is one of four nieces who’s played for Chris Souder in his 19 seasons as the head coach of Mercer County’s girls.

“She’s a true example of a servant leader,” Souder said. “She leads by example. She’s just a selfless player and gets everybody involved. She plays for her team instead of herself, and it just goes to show that ... you can do those things and be a Miss Basketball or a Mr. Basketball. I’m just so proud of ’em.”

Josh Moore: 859-231-1307, @HLpreps

Previous Mr. Basketball winners

2018: Trevon Faulkner, Mercer County

2017: Taveion Hollingsworth, Paul Laurence Dunbar

2016: Carson Williams, Owen Co.

2015: Camron Justice, Knott Co. Central

2014: Quentin Snider, Ballard

2013: Dominique Hawkins, Madison Central

2012: Nathan Dieudonne, Trinity

2011: Anthony Hickey, Christian Co.

2010: Elisha Justice, Shelby Valley

2009: Jon Hood, Madisonville

2008: Darius Miller, Mason Co.

2007: Steffphon Pettigrew, Elizabethtown

2006: Walt Allen, South Laurel

2005: Domonic Tilford, Jeffersontown

2004: Chris Lofton, Mason Co.

2003: Ross Neltner, Highlands

2002: Brandon Stockton, Glasgow

2001: Josh Carrier, Bowling Green

2000: Scott Hundley, Scott Co.

1999: Rick Jones, Scott Co.

1998: J.R. VanHoose, Paintsville

1997: Brandon Davenport, Owensboro

1996: Daymeon Fishback, Greenwood

1995: Charles Thomas, Harlan

1994: Elton Scott, Marion Co.

1993: Jason Osborne, Male

1992: Tick Rogers, Hart Co.

1991: Jermaine Brown, Fairdale

1990: Dwayne Morton, Central

1989: Allan Houston, Ballard

1988: Richie Farmer, Clay Co.

1987: John Pelphrey, Paintsville

1986: Rex Chapman, Apollo

1985: Tony Kimbro, Seneca

1984: Steve Miller, Henry Clay

1983: Winston Bennett, Male

1982: Todd May, Virgie

1981: Phil Cox, Cawood

1980: Ervin Stepp, Phelps

1979: Dirk Minniefield, Lafayette

1978: Doug Schloemer, Holmes

1977: Jeff Lamp, Ballard

1976: Darrell Griffith, Male

1975: Dom Fucci, Tates Creek

1974: Jack Givens, Bryan Station

1973: Wesley Cox, Male

1972: Jerry Thruston, Owensboro

1971: Jimmy Dan Conner, Anderson Co.

1970: Robert Brooks, Madison

1969: Ron King, Central

1968: Terry Davis, Shelby Co.

1967: Jim McDaniels, Allen Co.

1966: Mike Casey, Shelby Co.

1965: Butch Beard, Breckinridge Co.

1964: Wes Unseld, Seneca

1963: Mike Redd, Seneca

1962: Mike Silliman, St. Xavier

1961: Randy Embry, Owensboro

1960: Jeff Mullins, Lafayette

1959: Pat Doyle, North Marshall

1958: Harry Todd, Earlington

1958: Ralph Richardson, Russell Co.

1957: Billy Ray Lickert, Lafayette

1956: Kelly Coleman, Wayland

1955: Kenny Kuhn, Male

1954: Vernon Hatton, Lafayette


2018: Seygan Robins, Mercer County

2017: Lindsey Duvall, Bullitt East

2016: Erin Boley, Elizabethtown

2015: Maci Morris, Bell Co.

2014: Ivy Brown,LaRue Co.

2013: Makayla Epps, Marion Co.

2012: Sydney Moss, Boone Co.

2011: Sara Hammond, Rockcastle Co.

2010: Sarah Beth Barnette, LCA

2009: A’dia Mathies, Iroquois

2008: Tia Gibbs, Butler

2007: Rebecca Gray, Scott Co.

2006: Arnika Brown, Christian Co.

2005: Carly Ormerod, Sacred Heart

2004: Crystal Kelly, Sacred Heart

2003: Megen Gearhart, West Carter

2002: Erica Hallman, Holmes

2001: Katie Schwegmann, Bishop Brossart

2000: Jenni Benningfield, Assumption

1999: Jody Sizemore, Leslie Co.

1998: Beth Vice, Montgomery Co.

1997: Rachel Byars, Union Co.

1996: Jaime Walz, Highlands

1995: Ukari Figgs, Scott Co.

1994: Laurie Townsend, Apollo

1993: Brandi Ashby, Webster Co.

1992: Becky McKinley, Bullitt East

1991: Ida Bowen, Sheldon Clark

1990: Kim Mays, Knox Central

1989: Lisa Harrison, Southern

1988: Kim Pehlke, Doss

1987: Mary Taylor, Marshall Co.

1986: Kris Miller Owensboro Catholic

1985: Brigette Combs, Whitesburg

1984: Carol Parker, Marshall Co.

1983: Clemette Haskins, Warren Central

1982: Connie Goins, Western Hills

1981: Lillie Mason, Olmstead

1980: Lisa Collins, Laurel Co.

1979: Beth Wilkerson, Paris

1978: Irene Moore, Breathitt Co.

1977: Geri Grigsby, McDowell

1976: Donna Murphy, Newport